TomTom XL track log (gpx kml etc)

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by redrocket007, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. redrocket007

    redrocket007

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom XL
    Hi all,

    Is there a way to extract a track log from a TomTom XL (14644) into something like a gpx, kml etc file type. Basically I need to prove that we travelled a certain distance around Australia for a Guinness World Record attempt. The TomTom was on for most of the trip so I was hoping to extract the data somehow

    Thanks in advance
     
    redrocket007, Apr 22, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. redrocket007

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Not normally. Before models such as yours got an upgrade to Navcore 9.X, there were 3rd party apps that, if installed, could do what you wanted.
     
    dhn, Apr 22, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. redrocket007

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Apr 22, 2012
    #3
  4. redrocket007

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I doubt that it has anywhere near the buffer capacity to manage a whole trip like that, and while that kind of information is stored (it's how TomTom anonymously gets lots of average speed data for IQRoutes and 'discovers' some new roads that they had missed), that data is encrypted and can be extracted and interpreted only by TomTom. When you connect you unit to their servers, if you have permitted the use of the data, it's all sucked down and doesn't reside on your unit after that.
     
    canderson, Apr 22, 2012
    #4
  5. redrocket007

    Patjepeeer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 940 and GO 950
    Maybe more simple. Try Joghurt's MiniLog which logs all $GPGGA und $GPRMC NMEA sentences that the built-in GPS-chip creates.

    http://gps.dg4sfw.de/index.php/menuid=61

    This 3rd party tool creates one logfile a day (file name nmea-yyyy-mm-dd.log) which could be read with f.e. Google Earth.

    It works on my GO 940 and 950 with NC 9.430.
     
    Patjepeeer, Apr 25, 2012
    #5
  6. redrocket007

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I could never get MiniLog to install on my 720. The UI came up, the thing found the serial number of the unit, but nothing ever appeared in the sdk folders, and no app ever appears on the screen - which is no surprise, given no app seems to have been moved to the unit.

    Tried to be too cute, I think. I would have done fine with individual downloadable files rather than the Java attempt to autoinstall, but there's no option to just pull down the files.
     
    canderson, Apr 26, 2012
    #6
  7. redrocket007

    Patjepeeer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 940 and GO 950
    You should have the files on your TT as attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    Patjepeeer, Apr 26, 2012
    #7
  8. redrocket007

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    MUCH appreciated. Will be interesting to finally try out this application.
     
    canderson, Apr 26, 2012
    #8
  9. redrocket007

    Nichlas

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'm using TTTracklog, it has the posibility of start logging as soon as you start your device. (And only raw track data, not corrected by TomTom software).
     
    Nichlas, Jul 27, 2012
    #9
  10. redrocket007

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Hi Nichlas... can you give some more details about what TomTom you are using TT Tracklog on and what main software version you're running on the TomTom?


    Many of these third-party add-ons have stopped working with newer versions of Navcore, so it's good to hear of one that is still OK.
     
    Andy_P, Jul 28, 2012
    #10
  11. redrocket007

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That won't be true for devices that are stuck at 8.XXX firmware. OK for others, though. For whatever reason, TT would feed only the road snapped coordinate data through the API for a while. After being beat up a bit about that, it was subsequently 'fixed' so that the raw NMEA coordinate data was being supplied again.
     
    canderson, Jul 28, 2012
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.