New Tomtom Rider 550

Discussion in 'Hardware and Peripherals' started by eglideic, Oct 11, 2020.

  1. eglideic

    eglideic

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Iowa
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 55M, Rider 4GD00
    I just bought a new TomTom Rider 550 and I see there is a slot for a memory card, but the instruction book ignores that it is even there. Does anybody know what card I should put in there. Size, brand or anything?
     
    eglideic, Oct 11, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. eglideic

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Depends upon what you need to store. Usually it's used for maps in the event that the device won't hold all you need.
    Since the 550 starts with 16GB of memory, you will probably never have a use for a uSD card. All of North America will fit very nicely in what you've got.
     
    canderson, Oct 11, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. eglideic

    eglideic

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Iowa
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 55M, Rider 4GD00
    So what you are saying is you have no idea what card to put in there either. Too bad. I sure would like to know the answer.
     
    eglideic, Oct 11, 2020
    #3
  4. eglideic

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Yes, I do know what card fits.
    If it feels good, put in a 16GB Class 10 or higher card. I prefer Sandisk. That will hold the entire load of North American and Western European maps, but .. unless/until you start running out of the 16GB of space you already have, there's no point. If you don't plan to take your unit out of North America, and with the maps the size they are now, even if you DO, you won't run out of space using only the internal memory that you have.
     
    canderson, Oct 11, 2020
    #4
  5. eglideic

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    See what happens when you put rider 550 max size of micro sd card into a Google search.
     
    Arno, Oct 11, 2020
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.