TomTom One 3rd Edition - Can't change Car Symbol

Discussion in 'Car Icons' started by maxmcleod, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. maxmcleod

    ctxx24

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Michigan
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM LE
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
    ctxx24, Dec 23, 2007
    1. Advertisements

  2. maxmcleod

    lando622

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL-S and TTGO Classic
    I have the car icon program working for my TTG "Classic", and the trick in my case was to reboot my computer after installing TomTomHeavenExplorer. All other directions (art/cars folders on the TTG card, install program with the TTG Go attached and on) were followed, but until I rebooted my computer after the install, no TT device was detected.

    Happy Holidays!
     
    lando622, Dec 24, 2007
    1. Advertisements

  3. maxmcleod

    rp_guy

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm assuming this doesn't work for TT navigator 6??
     
    rp_guy, Dec 24, 2007
  4. maxmcleod

    cool cat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump?:confused:
     
    cool cat, Dec 25, 2007
  5. maxmcleod

    scottd1975

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    you just delete that directory folder the skregestry folder.
     
    scottd1975, Dec 25, 2007
  6. maxmcleod

    bcme136

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA, Mid MO.
    920

    As an FYI. I have the 920 and it won't change car icons. I do have a car next to the compass with a question mark on it.
     
    bcme136, Dec 27, 2007
  7. maxmcleod

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920


    As I said in my write-up, you should have made a backup copy of your settings.dat file as this program will overwrite it.

    Look for one of your backups on your PC and put that one in a safe place. All you need to do is copy this file to your TomTom and overwrite the one that has your custom car.
     
    Birdman, Dec 27, 2007
  8. maxmcleod

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Make sure your in 3D mode.
    It will not work in 2D modes.
     
    Pedro2NR, Dec 28, 2007
  9. maxmcleod

    cool cat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    where could i find this file.
     
    cool cat, Jan 3, 2008
  10. maxmcleod

    cool cat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    do u have a right up on this . thanks
     
    cool cat, Jan 3, 2008
  11. maxmcleod

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920


    Yupper....check out my post #93 in this thread....
     
    Birdman, Jan 3, 2008
  12. maxmcleod

    GrowlerTDI

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom one
    [​IMG]

    my golf on my TTone Us-Canada

    Thanks!
     
    GrowlerTDI, Mar 27, 2008
  13. maxmcleod

    kun0325

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If anyone with tomtom xl.s without sdcard can change car icon?
    I can't change my boring arrow still!
     
    kun0325, Apr 1, 2008
  14. maxmcleod

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920
    Have you read my write-up below?:
    >>> Custom Car Icon <<<
     
    Birdman, Apr 1, 2008
  15. maxmcleod

    kun0325

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    tomtom for Taiwan is a special version

    I called customer service in Taiwan. They said Chinese language is so special, They made some change in program.
    I think it is impossible to change car icon!
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
    kun0325, Apr 2, 2008
  16. maxmcleod

    hgarca089

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tomtom One

    Hi
    I can not change my arrow, tomtom heavenexplorer will communicate fine with the device but when I go to preference and try to pick 3D maps, I do not get any error in the tomtom but everytime I go to that menu is back to 2D so, I f I do not use 3D then cannot change cursor but I do not know how to force 3D maps to work.....
    Any advice??

    Maps Usa and canada 715.1712
    Thanks

    Hgarca089


    OKKKK

    Finally I got it to work!!!!
    TT Heaven explorer creates a folder named TTH in the root of the tomtom device and there will create the modified settings.dat file and supposed to copy that file to the root of the TT but in my case that file was not copied to the root, I just copied manually and got the new cursor, BTW inside this tth folder there is another folder named settings-ok with the original settings.dat file (before changing cursor) if you put that one back you will get your blue arrow back!!!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2008
    hgarca089, Apr 11, 2008
  17. maxmcleod

    kun0325

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hgarca089! Congragulations!

    I am the same situration like you, but I did follow to your hints: copied manually. But, my tomtom one xl.s called me to log on again, SO my modified settings.dat retured back to original settings.dat file. I go crazying!

    My tomtom for Taiwan JUST can't accept any modified by TT Heaven explorer, So it reseted again and again!
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2008
    kun0325, Apr 12, 2008
  18. maxmcleod

    hgarca089

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It happened to me too , so I uninstall heavenxplorer and reinstalled it again and everything was fine (with the manual copying...)
     
    hgarca089, Apr 16, 2008
  19. maxmcleod

    kun0325

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hgarca089, thank you for your reply.
    I uninstall heavenxplorer and reinstalled it again, but it's not ok.
    It call me to RESET again, and Nothing happen, arrow is still arrow!
     
    kun0325, Apr 17, 2008
  20. maxmcleod

    Drow

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody make any progress with the arrow remaining an arrow? I installed the program and everything seemed to work fine, but the arrow remains an arrow. I tried the manual copy, but the file reverts back to the original at some point in the process. I do not get any errors during the process, either.


    GOT IT!

    After two nights of trying to find a fix and bricking the system once, I finally got my custom cursor to work. Now, this may not help anybody, but I'll post the rather desperate steps, just in case they would help someone else who may eventually run into this problem. As always, back up the unit first. With your TT connected, get rid of any previous versions of tthxplrr and get the one from here: http://www.ozpoi.com/Change_tomtom_go_&_one_car_symbol.html. Once unzipped, run the setup file, then install the program. This should install the required folders and an X-mas tree arrow on the unit. Close the program and put your 80x80 bitmap in the "cars" folder on the unit. Now, you risk not being able to revert to the blue arrow this way, but at this point I didn't care. Plus, the backup would have it anyway. Open the program again and click on the image you want. I don't know how much this is needed, but since I forgot to let the writting stop a couple times before hitting the next button, this is the order I went: save, repair, apply, repair, apply, repair, apply (who knows, maybe it's the special secret code). Anyway, after that, close the program and safely eject your unit.

    Now, I'm no genius, but I'm no dummy either. I realize this process probably sounds absurd, but it worked for me. For some reason, no matter which version of tthxplrr I used or what process I used, the original settings.dat would revert to the original. Having gotten it to finally work (once at least), I am hesitant to test this any further. However, I would guess a simple save, repair and apply would be sufficient.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
    Drow, Apr 22, 2008
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.