No maps available error, tom tom 5000


Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
11
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tom tom 5000
Hi, can someone help please. I have a tom tom 5000 and decided to do a map update yesterday with my drive connect. Updated the map no problems and the my drive is saying the device is uptodate and the maps are installed on the device,but the device is saying no maps available please download a map you already own or buy a map etc. i cannot even access any settings on the device it wont do anything. i have been tying everything all afternoon and cannot get it to work..

Thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,859
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
Let's make sure that we've actually covered 'everything'.
Disconnect the unit and allow it to turn off. Press and hold the power button for about 20 seconds until you see the logo and hear the drums, then immediately release the button. Now see if a map comes up.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
11
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tom tom 5000
Thanks for the quick reply, Just tried this and no, i just get a red line with no maps available and underneath reinstall a map you already own or go to the tomtom shop to buy a map.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,859
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
What do you think, dhn? Full recovery attempt?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,847
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
What do you see at My Maps under My Content in MyDrive Connect?
 

Attachments

  • Screen087.jpg
    Screen087.jpg
    212.9 KB · Views: 357
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
273
Location
Philadelphia, PA
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 620
It looks like the map is being installed onto the SD card. Does the new Nav4 device need to do anything to switch from unit memory map to SD card map?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,340
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Not really. Just Maps-->select map. Both maps on a card and internal should be selectable.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
11
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tom tom 5000
i have tried loading the maps to the device but makes no difference.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
273
Location
Philadelphia, PA
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 620
I don't think it will fit on your device. The map on your sd card shows 6483MB where free space on device is 6266MB, so TomTom MyDrive automatically install it onto SD card. (I don't think there is an option to move the map from one to another)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
11
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tom tom 5000
No it wont fit and automatically goes onto the memory card as you say. i tried putting a smaller map on the device and still got the same message.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top