No maps available error, tom tom 5000

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Nando10, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    Hi, can someone help please. I have a tom tom 5000 and decided to do a map update yesterday with my drive connect. Updated the map no problems and the my drive is saying the device is uptodate and the maps are installed on the device,but the device is saying no maps available please download a map you already own or buy a map etc. i cannot even access any settings on the device it wont do anything. i have been tying everything all afternoon and cannot get it to work..

    Thank you
     
    Nando10, Jan 23, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Nando10

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Let's make sure that we've actually covered 'everything'.
    Disconnect the unit and allow it to turn off. Press and hold the power button for about 20 seconds until you see the logo and hear the drums, then immediately release the button. Now see if a map comes up.
     
    canderson, Jan 23, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    Thanks for the quick reply, Just tried this and no, i just get a red line with no maps available and underneath reinstall a map you already own or go to the tomtom shop to buy a map.
     
    Nando10, Jan 23, 2016
    #3
  4. Nando10

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Jan 23, 2016
    #4
  5. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    Yeah i tried this earlier. Thank you.
     
    Nando10, Jan 23, 2016
    #5
  6. Nando10

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    What do you think, dhn? Full recovery attempt?
     
    canderson, Jan 23, 2016
    #6
  7. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    What is this? i will try anything at the moment.
     
    Nando10, Jan 23, 2016
    #7
  8. Nando10

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
  9. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    Thanks for this, Just tried this again and no still the same.
     
    Nando10, Jan 23, 2016
    #9
  10. Nando10

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Arno, Jan 23, 2016
    #10
  11. Nando10

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Arno, Jan 23, 2016
    #11
  12. Nando10

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    What do you see at My Maps under My Content in MyDrive Connect?
     

    Attached Files:

    Arno, Jan 23, 2016
    #12
  13. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    This is what ive got.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Nando10, Jan 24, 2016
    #13
  14. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    And this on the device
    [​IMG]
     
    Nando10, Jan 24, 2016
    #14
  15. Nando10

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Guess you'll need to call support then.
     
    dhn, Jan 24, 2016
    #15
  16. Nando10

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    It looks like the map is being installed onto the SD card. Does the new Nav4 device need to do anything to switch from unit memory map to SD card map?
     
    zengshengliu, Jan 24, 2016
    #16
  17. Nando10

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Not really. Just Maps-->select map. Both maps on a card and internal should be selectable.
     
    dhn, Jan 24, 2016
    #17
  18. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    i have tried loading the maps to the device but makes no difference.
     
    Nando10, Jan 24, 2016
    #18
  19. Nando10

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    I don't think it will fit on your device. The map on your sd card shows 6483MB where free space on device is 6266MB, so TomTom MyDrive automatically install it onto SD card. (I don't think there is an option to move the map from one to another)
     
    zengshengliu, Jan 24, 2016
    #19
  20. Nando10

    Nando10

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom 5000
    No it wont fit and automatically goes onto the memory card as you say. i tried putting a smaller map on the device and still got the same message.
     
    Nando10, Jan 24, 2016
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.