How to upgrade a ONE to a 2gb card for North America maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by fanchee, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. fanchee

    Statman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Boulder & Santa Monica
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730
    jimbo, this may already have been answered, but if I have everything copied to the sd card...can/should I remove the identical files from the internal memory. In other words, should I delete the NA map file from internal if it is already on the sd card? ps...I moved the NA map over to install the bigger poi files. TIA.
     
    Statman, Jul 14, 2008
    1. Advertisements

  2. fanchee

    Thom

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    27302
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider V2, OneLE, XXL540TM
    NO LEAVE EVERYTHING ON THE INTERNAL MEMORY!!!!
     
    Thom, Jul 14, 2008
    1. Advertisements

  3. fanchee

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    No. Just leave the internal memory alone. It is completely bypassed when you insert the card. But if your SD card ever screws up, remove it and you'll have the internal memory as your backup.
     
    46jimbo, Jul 14, 2008
  4. fanchee

    Statman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Boulder & Santa Monica
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730
    Thanks guys. I removed the maps from the internal and it worked fine....I do see the point of keeping a backup installed though. I will reload it.
     
    Statman, Jul 14, 2008
  5. fanchee

    Thom

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    27302
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider V2, OneLE, XXL540TM
    I'll normally remove the SD card when I'm updating my device just to ensure that it's updated as well.
     
    Thom, Jul 14, 2008
  6. fanchee

    rickier55

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    It seems like my TT ONE XL updates, just about everytime I connect it to my computer, so does that mean I should take out card, connect it, then disconnect, put card in and reconnect? Not sure of the flow here.

    Thanks,
    Rick
     
    rickier55, Jul 23, 2008
  7. fanchee

    jndsilver31

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO510
    I purchased a new tt1 xl to replace a go 510 that i had been having loads of problems with. my new tt1 xl does not had a sd card, everything is loaded internally. the tt1 xl does have a slot of a sd card. can i copy all the internal information onto a sd card?
     
    jndsilver31, Aug 9, 2008
  8. fanchee

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yes, you can.
     
    dhn, Aug 9, 2008
  9. fanchee

    Kevhar

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 2nd Ed
    "Up to date" with "0 MapShare corrections in use"

    I'm one of those who upgraded a One to a 2GB card with North America v710maps. Everything had been working great for several months, with the Home program recognizing that although I have a One, I'm entitled to MapShare updates for the NA maps actually installed on my device.

    Suddenly, within the week or so, Home doesn't seem to recognize that I have NA maps, and it doesn't download any MapShare updates. (In fact, Home wants me to download & install USA & Canada 665!). Home says "Your map is up to date", and that I have "0 MapShare map corrections in use"!

    My 1-year timeframe for updates hasn't expired, and I'm afraid all those MapShare udpates are no longer on my One.

    Ideas? :confused:
     
    Kevhar, Oct 12, 2008
  10. fanchee

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Depends on the NavCore you're running I think. I don't think TomTom would give support for having a NA map on a ONE.
     
    sageuvagony, Oct 12, 2008
  11. fanchee

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    I think the mapshare server is still down.
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 13, 2008
  12. fanchee

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    It was back up for a few days. is it down again ?
     
    GAW, Oct 13, 2008
  13. fanchee

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Don't forget.......TT made an announcement that mapshares would be weekly, not daily, from now on .......
     
    dhn, Oct 13, 2008
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.