XL-S 1GB to 2GB Upgrade


Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
83
Location
St. Louis, MO
TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
This is a newbie writeup and tried to make the upgrade simple and a learning expearance.:)
Purchased a SD2GB 150X card on eBay. Used my onboard reader and XP Explorer to copy ALL the files from TT to the card(about 28 minutes). :p
Installed the card in TT, connected to USB port and HOME2. Screen on TT
flashed a few times with a blue SD icon with a TT logo and was recognized by
HOME2:D
Downloaded the other free computer voices(Kate,Dave & Simon) from the TT
web site.
Made backup with HOME2,SD icon was on the screen until backup completed.
Suprised I had no difficulties and everything went smoothly:D.
Started with 1.87GB on the card and have 807MB free space.

QUESTION for the experts:
Can I use HOME2 to delete the Guam maps and HOME2 installation software.

Might experiment with a 4GB card sometime in the future.

Apologize for poor spelling and long writeup. Not sure if posted in correct location.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

DOA

Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
1
TomTom Model(s)
One XLS
Adding an SD card

If I have a 1G SD card that I want to add to my TT 1XLS. Will it up the total memory to 2G? I want to add more then one computer voice but the onboard TT memory is to full to load it. I was hoping that by adding a 1G SD that I could load the extra computer voices. Will this work using the above steps?

DOA
TomTom One XLS (US)
TomTom One V3 (US)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
83
Location
St. Louis, MO
TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
SD card

DOA:

The onboard memory and SD card are not additive. The TT will boot from the
SD card, that is why a 2GB SD needed. Has to have the TT operating files and
space for what you might want to add.

Hope the newbie explanation made sense:)

Sometimes I think I should just read and ask questions:eek:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
3
Do I need a TopRam SD card or can I use any name brand? Everyone seems to be using the TopRam brand?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
3
Do I need a TopRam SD card or can I use any name brand? Everyone seems to be using the TopRam brand?
The reason I ask is because I had purchased a cheap 2GB Kingston SD card and I have had no luck on getting it work with the application files or anything for maps. thanks for the advice
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
83
Location
St. Louis, MO
TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
SD Brand

I did alot of reading here and other Forums. Two names, TopRam and Transcend 2GB 150X where mentioned often. Both can be purchased on eBay for a fair price if you bid wisely;)
My TopRam also came with a reader.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
2
I wonder if its possible to backup the XLS, put in a two GB card and perform a restore....
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top