GPS-Chip SIRF-III Upgrade from Version: GSW3.2.4TT3 to Version: GSW 3.2.5TT3 or GSW 3.6.0

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Smurf_Tom_2005, May 24, 2020.

  1. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Smurf_Tom_2005

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 730; One v2,v6, v7
    Since April 6, 2019, some devices have had problems receiving a GPS signal. This is the WNRO issue, which means that some of our GPS models have not received GPS positions.

    There are problems with the navigation functions with the Sirf3 GPS chip: after restarting (not after resetting) very long satellite search and no SatFix.

    there are tasks and unofficial updates.

    To change which GPS chip is mounted on Tomtom, you have to press the RESET button and hold the ON / OFF button for a few several seconds until the diagnostic screen appears. The model of the GPS chip is placed in the "GPS type" position.

    since this upgrade is a hardware upgrade, the other leadership NavCore version doesn't care any

    Search the internet for "GPS Upgrade Sirf3 GSW 3.2.5" and your navigation works again without errors;

    QuickGPSfix every 7 days, no longer heard

    Universal upgrade GSW3.2.5TT3 & GWS3.6.0 GPS Chip_SIRF-III
    for TT GO 510, GO 520, GO 630, GO 710, GO 720, GO 730, GO 715, GO 910, GO 920, GO 930, ONE, ONE 2nd Edition, ONE 3Rd (v7), GO 7000 Truck, Rider1 + 2nd

    Upgrade of the GPS chips SIRF-III from version: GWS3.1.1 or GSW3.2.4TT3 to version: GSW3.2.5TT3 or GSW3.6.0
    The GPS firmware GSW3.6.0 generally (but not always).
    The GPS firmware GSW3.2.5 is still a bit faster with the Satfix than the GPS firmware GSW3.6.0
    Note. Firmware for Tomtom Navi with Sirf 3 GPS chip; and only exists

    [site removed]

    I have only heard all upgrade versions and I can only manage the article about the unofficial firmware upgrade to GSW 3.2.5 or GSW 3.6.0. Many other EOL satnavs can also be upgraded with the Sirf3 GPS chip.
    It is a shame that Tomtom did not remove it itself, which some users from a German forum (digital eliteboard) were able to do. This point goes to the Germans!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2020
    Smurf_Tom_2005, May 24, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Removed link to hacked Navcore site.

    Not sure what the issue is here. I know for a fact that units such as the 720 and 730 have perfectly functional updates for the WRNO issue available here from TomTom >> https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/updates/
    I have applied them myself.
     
    canderson, May 24, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Smurf_Tom_2005

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 730; One v2,v6, v7
    translated with Google

    I have these devices for navigation;
    TomTom GO730; TomTom ONE (v2; v3; v7) in use (all end-of-life). These are with a Sirfstar III
    Chipset equipped, which ran with the firmware GSW3.2.4.
    However, since the week rollover in April 2019, the part has caused problems.
    The satellite fix lasted forever or did not work after the 3rd or 4th warm start.
    The number of satellites received was then only 4 or fewer.
    Only a manual cold start of the GPS chip then helped (reset).
    All in all, the device was no longer usable.

    The GPS chip Sirf3 is old, but there were 1 faulty official (GWS 3.2.4) and unofficial upgrades (gsw3.2.5tt3 & gws 3.6.0) without errors.
    The TomTom company has not released a usable and well-functioning upgrade for the old devices (all EOL) with the GPS-Chip_SIRF 3, even if it is allegedly claimed. New devices are to be sold.
    there is the unofficial GPS chip Sirf3 upgrade gsw3.2.5tt3 & gws 3.6.0 with which the old EOL devices work better than ever before.
    I flashed these navigation devices myself and it is really very good. It is also "Made in Germany"

    Thanks to all the users who made this upgrade possible with their work

    The file ttgo.bif in the main directory of the navigation device must look something like this after the upgrade:

    [TomTomGo]
    DeviceName=TomTom ONE
    DeviceVersionHW=ONE (v2)
    DeviceSerialNumber=G2xxxxIxxxxx
    DeviceUniqueID=AKXXX XXXXX
    RamDiskVersion=20080109
    BootLoaderVersion=55285
    LinuxVersion=2332
    ApplicationVersionVersionNumber=7166
    ApplicationVersion=8497
    UserLanguage=Deutsch
    UserName=
    LastConnectionTime=Never
    GPSFirmwareVersion=GSW3.2.5TT3-CRC32_3.3.01.06-C35P3.00
    BuiltInColorScheme0=Belgica
     
    Smurf_Tom_2005, May 25, 2020
    #3
  4. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    I think you will find that the update offered by TomTom through Home (see the link I provided) would have allowed your GO 730 to work normally. It has worked fine for the 720 and 740 Live units as well. A fair number of "EOL" devices were treated to the update, even though they are not eligible for new maps. It was not necessary to go to a 3rd party for an update.

    The list of units covered by the update specific to your GO 730 follows:

    Version 9.541
    Released on 19 December 2018 This update applies to: XXL Classic, ONE IQ Routes, XL IQ Routes, XL IQR2 / XL Classic, GO 750, GO 750 LIVE, GO 950, GO 950 LIVE, GO 540 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, GO 940 LIVE, GO 530, GO 630, GO 730, GO 930, GO 720, GO 520, GO 920, EASE, ONE 140, Start
     
    canderson, May 25, 2020
    #4
  5. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Smurf_Tom_2005

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 730; One v2,v6, v7
    translated with Google

    The problem is not the Navcore version (9.541), which unfortunately only works partially.
    The problem is the firmware for the devices with the Sirf3 GPS chip.

    the devices: XXL Classic, ONE IQ routes, XL IQ routes, XL IQR2 / XL Classic, GO 750, GO 750 LIVE, GO 950, GO 950 LIVE, GO 540 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, GO 940 LIVE
    have the GPS chip: Broadcom BCM4750 (GL2) installed. Update version 9.541 only works with these devices
    by exchanging the "glgps" file in the "bin folder" the error: wrong time and wrong date (01.01. - 0.00 o'clock) was fixed.

    the devices: ONE XL, ONE XL HDT, ONE XL-S, ONE V4, XL, ONE 140, ONE XL340, ONE 2.Edition serial: Z1, Z2, Z3; ONE Third Edition with the Serial: Y2, Y4, Y5, Y6, Y7, Y8 have installed the Global Hammerhead v1 (GL1). Problem of WNRO error; wrong time (0am) and date (January 1st); there is an unofficial patch to fix the bug (ttconv-v11)

    the devices: GO 510, GO 520, Go 630, GO 710, Go720, GO 730, GO 715, Go 910, GO920, GO 930, ONE, ONE (v2 and v3), ONE 3Rd (v7) (Serial: Y1, Y3), GO 7000 Truck, Rider 1, Rider 2 have the GPS chip: Sirf3 built in. The original has the firmware GSW3.2.4, but since the week rollover in April 2019, the GPS chip has caused problems.
    The satellite fix lasted forever or no longer works after the 3rd or 4th warm start. The number of satellites received is then only 4 or fewer.
    Only a manual cold start of the GPS chip then helps (reset); To fix this error there is the unofficial GPS chip Sirf3 upgrade gsw3.2.5tt3 & gws 3.6.0, which makes the devices work better than ever before, and this with every Navcore version.
     
    Smurf_Tom_2005, May 26, 2020
    #5
  6. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    I am very familiar with the SiRF3 chip. Back in the old days, you always hoped that a device you bought would be using it. I also have a couple of old handheld devices from Garmin that used it, and those also updated successfully.

    The TomTom firmware version I mentioned isn't working 'partially' on my GO 720. It's working just fine. I have not had the problem you mention about losing fix after several warm starts.

    Your post here https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/d...april-2019-one-time-update-for-your-device/p2 is noted.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2020
    canderson, May 26, 2020
    #6
  7. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Shotokan101

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510

    Hi folks - first post after finding a link here on Google :)

    Go 510 owner who's been looking for a fix such as this since the link to update via official tomtom forum failed to provide an update... :(

    Anyone aware of a thread or article outlining this "DIY" approach in detail for the non techies out there?

    Thanks

    Jim
     
    Shotokan101, Jul 1, 2020 at 6:26 PM
    #7
  8. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    It should be automatically offered to you if you have a current version of Home on your PC and plug in your 510. The updated firmware is definitely still out there.
     
    canderson, Jul 2, 2020 at 2:39 AM
    #8
    Shotokan101 likes this.
  9. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Shotokan101

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Thanks - that's what I did the other day but it didn't provide an update but will go back and retry

    Jim
     
    Shotokan101, Jul 2, 2020 at 3:39 AM
    #9
  10. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Shotokan101

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Hi - still no updates even on US site link you provided - any other suggestions?
     
    Shotokan101, Jul 2, 2020 at 7:00 PM
    #10
  11. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Shotokan101

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Also - anyone able to tell me what firmware version should be after update just in case the go 510 actually dud get updated in the background?
     
    Shotokan101, Jul 2, 2020 at 11:01 PM
    #11
  12. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Not sure about the current version number (last digits vary with model, and don't have a 510 here), but the last regular one released some years back for the 510 was 7.903. Whatever you need, it will be a number greater than that.
    What is your unit showing as its version number now?
     
    canderson, Jul 3, 2020 at 2:38 PM
    #12
  13. Smurf_Tom_2005

    Shotokan101

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    This help

    * HOME info:

    DLL Version: 2.20.11.41
    MapShare DLL Version: 2.2.2.983
    Language:

    * Connected device: "TomTom GO 710"

    ID: "AKVAC BJMRJ"
    Type: "go710"
    Serial: "V55267S00409"

    MapShare information:
    Patch format version: 2.4
    Map patch downloads: true
    POI patch downloads: false
    Patches to upload: 0
    POI Subscriptions:

    ttgo.bif file contents:
    [TomTomGo]
    DeviceName=TomTom GO 710
    DeviceVersionHW=GO 710
    DeviceSerialNumber=V55267S00409
    DeviceUniqueID=AKVAC BJMRJ
    RamDiskVersion=20081205
    BootLoaderVersion=48600
    LinuxVersion=2344
    ApplicationVersionVersionNumber=7903
    ApplicationVersion=9183
    UserLanguage=English UK
    UserName=
    LastConnectionTime=Never
    GPSFirmwareVersion=GSW3.2.4TT_3.1.00.12-C35B1.02
     
    Shotokan101, Jul 4, 2020 at 5:21 AM
    #13
  14. Smurf_Tom_2005

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    OK. 7.903.9183 was indeed the last released version for the GO510 and 710 from quite some years back.
    So it is certain that you don't have the updated one yet.
    We need Home to offer you the newer version that takes care of the WNRO issue.
    You're going to have to do a live chat with someone at TomTom to see if they can get the right version offered for your device. Let them know that you are on the version noted above, and that you are trying to resolve the "Week Number Roll-Over" problem by obtaining new firmware for your device.

    I want you to log in and try the "Contact Us" button in the lower right corner at this link >> https://help.tomtom.com/hc/en-gb
    Let us know if that works as it should.
     
    canderson, Jul 4, 2020 at 2:17 PM
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.