Luddite needs an upgrade -- HELP

Discussion in 'Which TomTom Should I Buy?' started by yardbent, Jun 3, 2019.

  1. yardbent

    yardbent

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    so the 9 year old TomTom ONE has died - wont lock-on the sats anymore

    of course, due to its age, I cannot update maps nor the OS - so what can you suggest...?

    I'm an 78year old Luddite - no Smartphone etc
    what I'm looking for is a basic unit for planning A-B
    but which TomTom is STILL supporting and issuing map updates

    many thanks for any model advice

    regards................................john
     
    yardbent, Jun 3, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. yardbent

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,790
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    More than likely you CAN update the OS,. I think all of the old ONE series units are being offered the special updates to resolve a problem with how it calculates time (it's a long story - but you can look up "Week Number Rollover GPS" with Google). Hook it up and let Home do its thing and see what it offers to you.

    Beyond that, though, you are correct. The amount of memory a ONE can manage is too small for today's maps. There are several fully supported 'lower end' TomTom units out there. There are both 5" and 6" units (easier on the older eyes) available. Have a look at this one https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/drive/car/products/via-1525m/ if you aren't concerned with traffic data, or this one if you need some kind of traffic support https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/drive/car/products/via-1525tm/
    Both have 8GB of internal memory, and both have card slots if you ever need more memory than that to support more/new maps.

    Any features other than A to B that you really liked about your ONE?
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    canderson, Jun 5, 2019
    #2
    yardbent likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. yardbent

    yardbent

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    many thanks for all the info
    the only update shown for my ONE was the WNRO fix which I've now installed

    I'll have a look at the via-12525m

    the ONE did all I needed ----- destination either an address or PostCode

    best regards..................john
     
    yardbent, Jun 5, 2019
    #3
  4. yardbent

    molerat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V3 4N01.000 Y4
    Which One have you got ? XL I assume. N14644 is not the model, that is a general standard. Certainly no update being offered for my One.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    molerat, Jun 5, 2019
    #4
  5. yardbent

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,790
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Jun 5, 2019
    #5
    yardbent likes this.
  6. yardbent

    yardbent

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    just the basic ONE - not the XL. I have installed the WNRO
    no updates available...........:(
     
    yardbent, Jun 5, 2019
    #6
  7. yardbent

    molerat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V3 4N01.000 Y4
    I know exactly what it says, tough but you can buy a new one from us. Too late, Garmin have my money now.
     
    molerat, Jun 5, 2019
    #7
  8. yardbent

    molerat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V3 4N01.000 Y4
    There are 3 different Ones, the model should be on the bottom. What "WNRO" have you installed ?
     
    molerat, Jun 5, 2019
    #8
  9. yardbent

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,790
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Actually, there are more than 3 ONE models out there, but some of them have VERY limited memory -- as small as 512MB. The serial number prefix (first two characters) narrows that down. I am traveling so do not have my master chart available, but would be very surprised if your ONE V3 didn't have had a WNRO (week number rollover) firmware update available to it, even as old as it is (likely ~11 years?).
     
    canderson, Jun 6, 2019
    #9
    yardbent likes this.
  10. yardbent

    molerat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V3 4N01.000 Y4
    Nothing offered on TT Home.
     
    molerat, Jun 6, 2019
    #10
  11. yardbent

    yardbent

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    hi
    the base sticker only says TomTom ONE
    serial # is PA1429G08925
    hence i 'think' its the Original

    anyway.....WNRO is installed dated 08/06/19
    and if i reboot EACH time it does lock-on within 2 mins

    my bro is returning from Europe end of July
    his new car has built-in SatNav -- so I can have his TomTom Start 25

    **************SORTED***************:):)

    many thanks for all the advice............................john
     
    yardbent, Jun 8, 2019
    #11
  12. yardbent

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,790
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Ah, OK. For your ONE, it might be worth deleting the ephemeris data and getting new QuickGPSFix update. If you can find a folder called ephemeris on your ONE using your PC, delete the contents of that folder (not the folder) and see if Home offers you a new one.

    Nice that you can have his 25, though. The user interface is very different, but you'll find yourself adjusting to it. It makes the map a more central feature of the user interface than was the case for older models. You can also use either the old way of entering addresses or the newer way that just allows you to start entering the numberand street and it suggests options and usually gets it right at the top of the list.
     
    canderson, Jun 8, 2019
    #12
  13. yardbent

    yardbent

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    thanks - using Google 'ephemeris' - i found this ----

    quickgpsfix downloads (a new file should be available daily), to "reset" your quickgpsfix settings.

    1) close Tomtom HOME
    2) in your Tomtom drive, open the ephem folder, and delete all the contents of it
    3) on your computer, go to the My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\ephemeris folder ......and delete all the subfolders in that location
    4) reopen Home and do Update , it should install a new quickgpsfix file.

    After installing it and properly disconnecting from HOME, you should also do a pin reset


    Done - and now my ONE locks on much quicker..!!
     
    yardbent, Jun 9, 2019
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.