Luddite needs an upgrade -- HELP


Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
9
Location
SW Scotland
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TOMTOM ONE
so the 9 year old TomTom ONE has died - wont lock-on the sats anymore

of course, due to its age, I cannot update maps nor the OS - so what can you suggest...?

I'm an 78year old Luddite - no Smartphone etc
what I'm looking for is a basic unit for planning A-B
but which TomTom is STILL supporting and issuing map updates

many thanks for any model advice

regards................................john
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
More than likely you CAN update the OS,. I think all of the old ONE series units are being offered the special updates to resolve a problem with how it calculates time (it's a long story - but you can look up "Week Number Rollover GPS" with Google). Hook it up and let Home do its thing and see what it offers to you.

Beyond that, though, you are correct. The amount of memory a ONE can manage is too small for today's maps. There are several fully supported 'lower end' TomTom units out there. There are both 5" and 6" units (easier on the older eyes) available. Have a look at this one https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/drive/car/products/via-1525m/ if you aren't concerned with traffic data, or this one if you need some kind of traffic support https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/drive/car/products/via-1525tm/
Both have 8GB of internal memory, and both have card slots if you ever need more memory than that to support more/new maps.

Any features other than A to B that you really liked about your ONE?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
9
Location
SW Scotland
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TOMTOM ONE
............. "Week Number Rollover GPS" ..... Hook it up and let Home do its thing and see what it offers to you.

............ Have a look at this one https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/drive/car/products/via-1525m.........................
Both have 8GB of internal memory, and both have card slots if you ever need more memory than that to support more/new maps.

Any features other than A to B that you really liked about your ONE?.........
many thanks for all the info
the only update shown for my ONE was the WNRO fix which I've now installed

I'll have a look at the via-12525m

the ONE did all I needed ----- destination either an address or PostCode

best regards..................john
 
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
22
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
One V3 4N01.000 Y4
Which One have you got ? XL I assume. N14644 is not the model, that is a general standard. Certainly no update being offered for my One.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
9
Location
SW Scotland
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TOMTOM ONE
Which One have you got ? XL I assume. N14644 is not the model, that is a general standard. Certainly no update being offered for my One.
just the basic ONE - not the XL. I have installed the WNRO
no updates available...........:(
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
22
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
One V3 4N01.000 Y4
just the basic ONE - not the XL. I have installed the WNRO
no updates available...........:(
There are 3 different Ones, the model should be on the bottom. What "WNRO" have you installed ?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Actually, there are more than 3 ONE models out there, but some of them have VERY limited memory -- as small as 512MB. The serial number prefix (first two characters) narrows that down. I am traveling so do not have my master chart available, but would be very surprised if your ONE V3 didn't have had a WNRO (week number rollover) firmware update available to it, even as old as it is (likely ~11 years?).
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
9
Location
SW Scotland
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TOMTOM ONE
There are 3 different Ones, the model should be on the bottom. What "WNRO" have you installed ?
hi
the base sticker only says TomTom ONE
serial # is PA1429G08925
hence i 'think' its the Original

anyway.....WNRO is installed dated 08/06/19
and if i reboot EACH time it does lock-on within 2 mins

my bro is returning from Europe end of July
his new car has built-in SatNav -- so I can have his TomTom Start 25

**************SORTED***************:):)

many thanks for all the advice............................john
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Ah, OK. For your ONE, it might be worth deleting the ephemeris data and getting new QuickGPSFix update. If you can find a folder called ephemeris on your ONE using your PC, delete the contents of that folder (not the folder) and see if Home offers you a new one.

Nice that you can have his 25, though. The user interface is very different, but you'll find yourself adjusting to it. It makes the map a more central feature of the user interface than was the case for older models. You can also use either the old way of entering addresses or the newer way that just allows you to start entering the numberand street and it suggests options and usually gets it right at the top of the list.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
9
Location
SW Scotland
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TOMTOM ONE
Ah, OK. For your ONE, it might be worth deleting the ephemeris data and getting new QuickGPSFix update. --------------------.
thanks - using Google 'ephemeris' - i found this ----

quickgpsfix downloads (a new file should be available daily), to "reset" your quickgpsfix settings.

1) close Tomtom HOME
2) in your Tomtom drive, open the ephem folder, and delete all the contents of it
3) on your computer, go to the My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\ephemeris folder ......and delete all the subfolders in that location
4) reopen Home and do Update , it should install a new quickgpsfix file.

After installing it and properly disconnecting from HOME, you should also do a pin reset


Done - and now my ONE locks on much quicker..!!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top