How to upgrade your SD card to a 2gb card for North America maps


Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
1,681
Location
Texas
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 335S
Hi all,

As there are several threads with bits and pieces of information on this subject floating around, I'm taking the advice of my co-mods Pedro and battom, and am creating a sticky on the subject.

First, BACKUP. Please do not skip this step thinking it's unnecessary.

Then here's what I did that worked for me. I'm on a Mac, too.

I safely put away my original 1gb card (as yet another backup.) I then put the brand new, EMPTY 2gb card in my ONE. If your card is not empty because you are repurposing it for the TomTom, that's ok. Just manually DELETE all files from it first. No need to format the card.

Put the new TomTom maps DVD into your DVD drive.

Then, after installing the 2gb card into your ONE, connect it via usb to HOME. HOME will likely NOT see your device right now because there is no app or nothing on the card. DON'T PANIC. Simply go up to your HOME menu and choose device->change device and it will locate your ONE.

Next, click on install to TomTom in HOME and you see three tabs across the top: my computer, TomTom CD, and All Sources. Choose TomTom CD (even though it's a DVD!)

On things to install, YOU MUST CHOOSE THE APP FROM THE DVD. No, it's not the latest app, but afterwards, you can update once you get things installed smoothly. Choose the app, choose the North America map, and choose any voices you would like installed.

Click install, and wait (it's USB, after all.) Let it install, disconnect via HOME, your unit will reset itself.

NOTE: Since you began with a BLANK sd card and the DVD doesn't have a splash screen to install, YOU WILL HAVE TO INSTALL THE SPLASH SCREEN YOURSELF! You'll notice that once your unit resets itself, it goes from gray right into the maps page. This is because there is no splash screen! So locate your backup (in step one above) and just drag the splash.bmp file onto your ONE (you must mount it again via USB.)

After verified and working, you should mount it again to HOME and allow HOME to install the latest updates so you can get your QuickFix! :)

I hope this helps!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
2,036
Thank you fanchee!!!
I'll be using your How-to Monday or Tuesday night... I believe my 2Gb and 4GB cards will be here when i get home tomorrow!
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
71
hmm... Am I doing something wrong here?

I simply use SD card reader, "Select all" files from the TT card.

"copy" and "paste" into new 2GB SD card w/ FAT. (not FAT 32)

That's all and it works perfectly.
________
Laguna Bay II Condo
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
1,681
Location
Texas
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 335S
Sounds like you are just copying over what you already have. These instructions are for installing the new North America maps onto a brand new card.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
96
TomTom Model(s)
One
Hmm, I just upgraded to a 2G card before reading this post. I basically followed the same steps with the exception of installing the old version of app. I checked off the new one and installed that fresh. All seems to work fine. I show App - 6.560, GPS - 1.21 and North America - v665.1293. Is this all the latest and greatest? How do I confirm the GPSfix?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
1,681
Location
Texas
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 335S
Yep, you have the latest and greatest. :)

To confirm the GPSfix, you should have a file on your ONE called ephemeris. Just use HOME and explore to look for that file.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
6
Location
Seattle
TomTom Model(s)
ONE V2
I haven't gotten my new map dvd yet. I have copied all my updated data, poi, etc over to a 2 gig card that is working fine currently. My question is, when I get my dvd, do I just delete the usa/canada maps off of the card and do a install of just the NA maps off the dvd using TTHome? Or do I need to delete everything off my card and start over by following Fanchee's instructions?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
195
Location
currently Princeton, NJ
TomTom Model(s)
ONE
If you have the 2 gig card already working,
I see no reason to start off from the beginnging.
You could just delete the USA/Canada map and install NA just like you have
said, and it should work just fine.

I am in the process of doing exact same thing...
my dvd should arrive hopefully by tomorrow...
 

JDM

Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
25
Location
Garden Grove, CA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v3
I think you guys should make a section for the Orginal File of the tomotom for each system and version. if anyone wants to go back to how it was fresh out of the box. they could just grap the file on here. what you guys think?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
2,036
The problem with that is, who still has the old files? HOME updates you automatically and if you don't catch it.. I have started (since this version) to make backup copies for myself. I don't know if it would be a problem with TomTom or not to distribute them.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
6
Location
Seattle
TomTom Model(s)
ONE V2
Let us know how that works for you. My DVD is probably a week out still.



If you have the 2 gig card already working,
I see no reason to start off from the beginnging.
You could just delete the USA/Canada map and install NA just like you have
said, and it should work just fine.

I am in the process of doing exact same thing...
my dvd should arrive hopefully by tomorrow...
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
90
Location
Kentucky USA
TomTom Model(s)
910 w/ v7.10 maps
hmm... Am I doing something wrong here?

I simply use SD card reader, "Select all" files from the TT card.

"copy" and "paste" into new 2GB SD card w/ FAT. (not FAT 32)

That's all and it works perfectly.


Don't use a card reader to transfer files. Because of the many different type of readers and incompatability issues, there are a lot of errors this way.

Hook your tomtom up via usb and ac power adapter.

* To install tomtom software or get tomtom updates, go thru tomtom home.

* To copy files or back up your card: Go to windows explorer or my computer to copy or back up files. Just copy and paste from that drive.

You won't have to format most new cards. But if you have already used the card and want to start over, back up all files then just delete all the files.

Do be sure you have ALL antivirus, firewalls and spyware detectors disabled first.

Randy R.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
62
Location
Jackson, NJ
TomTom Model(s)
GO510/710 + XXL530•S + XXL550•T
Where do I get the new map DVD from??

The only thing that I've seen is a download option for the new map/s (North America).

My TT GO510 info:

GPS v1.21, Boot 4.8600
Map: 'USA_and_Canada' v665.1293
TomTom HOME: 2.2.2.28
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
A while back TomTom offered owners the North America and US_Canada 665 map on a DVD. Now everything is via download using HOME.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
62
Location
Jackson, NJ
TomTom Model(s)
GO510/710 + XXL530•S + XXL550•T
HOME not wanting anything to do with a new blank SD card...

A while back TomTom offered owners the North America and US_Canada 665 map on a DVD. Now everything is via download using HOME.
OK....I tried that but HOME will do NADA when I put in a new blank 2 GB card. It works fine with the original TT card but then HOME tells me that there is not enough room to download the new map/s. Do I have to download the new map (North America) and install it later on the larger card and, if that's the case, HOW is that done????

Please someone post a sticky for downloading new maps to be put on new SD cards. As it is, I'm a TT newbie and a self-taught Mac user. But it's hard to do this stuff without a little knowledge on HOW to do it.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top