Xxl 540tm

Just received TomTom XXL 540TM and would like to know how long to charge the unit? And, how do we know when it is fully charged?
(via AC to USB connection.)

Welcome to TTF.

A good rule of thumb is to charge it via the usb cable 2-4 hours when it comes out of the box.

If you remove the cable and tap the satellite bars on the screen, you'll see the battery symbol.

But there is no visual or audible indication when it is fully charged.

And make an Explorer, not Home, backup before you do anything else.

If unsure how, see here:
https://www.tomtomforums.com/genera...4-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html

Backup

Thank you.
You said "https://www.tomtomforums.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=136747"

When I attempted to copy/paste to the new "TomTom Back Up" folder, it mentioned that it would take 67 minutes (over one hour).
Is that correct, or have I done something wrong?
I am new at all of this GPS backing-up; updating maps, registering, etc.
And therefore, your help is greatly appreciated (in easy to understand terminology please).

Alice

Your model is what is known as USB 1.1 compliant, meaning it is an older, slower, protocol for the transfer of data. So, yes, that time would not be out of the ordinary.

Most products on the market, including some tomtom models, have the faster USB 2.0 transfer protocol.

In fact the newest is 3.0 but there are not many products, and no GPS brands I'm aware of, that currently have that kind of hardware facility yet.

Okay, I will go ahead with the copy/paste.
#1- Is the TomTom XXL 540TM charging while it is doing the transfer?
#2- I notice I am not only copying (and pasting) files, but also Folders. Is that correct?

Over-charging

Is there any possiblity of OVER charging the TomTom XXL540TM (when using AC/USB adapter/charger?
Can it be overcharged which could cause a fire?
Anyoen know?

Does anyone know how to get rid of the Home icon in lower part of screen (taskbar)?