Purchased voices from previous unit to new TomTom

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Jock, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. Jock

    Jock

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, replaced my GO720 with a 620 and I have all working fine but I kind of wanted my purchased voices to appear / to load on the new machine. I can no longer use the GO720, is there a way to have these voices loaded to the new GPS or are the bean counters counting on another sale?

    EDIT: looked at the TT website, there is only one machine which is ever allowed to use a single voice purchase. They must need money I suppose but I reckon I will not purchase again. It's a bit limiting.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
    Jock, Jun 19, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jock

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What's wrong with the 720?
     
    dhn, Jun 19, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jock

    Jock

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The screen took a hit - the digitiser lost the plot so I replaced it - the replacement screen starts up really solarised if you get what I mean and to put new maps plus a screen was more than a new unit with lifetime maps would cost - logical to update. It still works but I will not be using it again for the reasons I have mentioned. Also the touch sensoring is a bit out on the y axis
     
    Jock, Jun 19, 2017
    #3
  4. Jock

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Let's be fair. Your 720 is 10 year old technology.
    Look at PCs.
    Much to my regret, I have a programme that can still be installed on an XP but not on a Vista+.
     
    Arno, Jun 19, 2017
    #4
  5. Jock

    Jock

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so to go against logic, I purchased the voice, downloaded / activated and now my NEW 620 is mute, the premium voice selected and nothing but the machine alert for speed cameras and stuff. No premium voice. I deselected, reselected, held the power switch for a drummy reboot, still borked. Voice is OK on factory voices.
    Come on TomTom, this is absolutely nonsensical. You guys need to chase this sort of thing up, I am not the first to have this occur.
    :(
     
    Jock, Jun 30, 2017
    #5
  6. Jock

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    This is a peer-to-peer Forum without any connection to TomTom
    (meaning that users are trying to help other users).
    You guy will cave to call Australian Customer Support.

    https://phonenumberau.com/tomtom-australia-phone-number.html
     
    Arno, Jun 30, 2017
    #6
  7. Jock

    Jock

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah yeah, I had to vent - already filed a report with them just now.... frustrating when you open the pocket and get a lemon. Thanks

    Also, I doubt I will call their premium phone number for $0.99 a minute .... that rubs me up the wrong way lads! aye!
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
    Jock, Jun 30, 2017
    #7
  8. Jock

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    This should be the proper number 1300 135 604.
     
    Arno, Jun 30, 2017
    #8
  9. Jock

    Jock

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The sands of data flow slowly, today I can report the voice works as it should. Jock - out!
     
    Jock, Jul 2, 2017
    #9
  10. Jock

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Glad to hear that you got it sorted, Jock.
     
    Arno, Jul 2, 2017
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.