Help needed urgently please - (Adding Europe map to One XL)

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by grifftheriff, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. grifftheriff

    grifftheriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Tomtom one xl which i keep updated and only has UK maps and speed cameras installed.

    I am off to Europe this weekend (France and Spain) and decided to buy the map for Western Europe.I had no idea that the memory might not be large enough.

    I bought the map and safety cameras but got the message that there was not enough space in my device to download them and to free up space.Judging by the amount of space needed and the amount that it was telling me I would gain by erasing everything from my device-there still would not have been enough.

    After calling the shop where i bought it I was advised to buy an SD 2GB card-which I did.

    Can someone please tell me in easy terms how to now get my map of Europe and the safety cameras on to my device.

    Do I still have to lose the UK map to do so?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 3, 2011
    grifftheriff, Aug 3, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. grifftheriff

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Copy everything thats currently on the device or memory card supplied with the device to the PC (The One XL was sold in various formats, some used internal memory some used memory cards).
    The copy everything to your new 2GB memory card, insert this to the device and switch it on, make sure it works displaying the map.
    Next connect the device to the PC and use Home to add the Europe map to the memory card, Home should tell you if both maps are too large to fit on the 2GB card. Assuming both maps load to the memory card switch the unit on and go to Change Preferences/ Manage Maps/ Switch maps and select the Europe map from the list - Mike
     
    mikealder, Aug 3, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. grifftheriff

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    IT DOESN'T MATTER, if you have to remove the UK map to make space. The Western Europe map includes the UK (and Ireland) at exactly the same level of detail as on the UK map.

    If you buy a a "Europe" version of any TomTom model, it has the UK in it's maps.

    Moving everything onto the SD card and then updating, (as Mike suggests) is the simplest method. Delete the UK map if it tells you it need space.
    But make sure you back everything up to the PC first (by copying everything to a new folder on the PC hard drive) just in case anything goes wrong during the update.
     
    Andy_P, Aug 3, 2011
    #3
  4. grifftheriff

    grifftheriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    Thanks guys-will do that today and let you know how I get on.

    Cheers
     
    grifftheriff, Aug 4, 2011
    #4
  5. grifftheriff

    grifftheriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    help

    tried this method-managed to copy everything to my pc no probs-then got stuck!

    I dont have any way to insert the sd card in to my pc so couldn`t copy the map that way and when i put it in the device i dont know how to access it that way.

    tried deleting the UK map but still not enough space for the western europe map-it needs to go on to the sd card but i dont know how to do it.

    Can anyone help
     
    grifftheriff, Aug 6, 2011
    #5
  6. grifftheriff

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When you insert the card into the unit, both the unit and the card should show as removable storage devices with Windows assigning drive letters to each.

    Insert the card, connect to the computer and look at your My Computer (should be an icon on your desktop). When you click on it, both should show in the section, "Devices with removable storage".
     
    dhn, Aug 6, 2011
    #6
  7. grifftheriff

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    As an alternate to using the device as a card reader nip down to your local Maplins store and purchase a USB-2 SD card stick, insert the card in to the reader then plug the reader in to a USB socket on the PC. Main advantage of doing this is a far faster data transfer as the device is only USB-1 whereas a USB-2 reader is considerably faster, Maplins have plenty of these for under a tenner - Mike
     
    mikealder, Aug 6, 2011
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.