Bricked TT ONE v4? Blinking X

Hi guys this is my first time posting here.

I've been looking at a lot of threads in regards to the bricked TT ONE's with the blinking x's. I was recently given a TT ONE by a friend who had bricked his and said if i could get it to work i could keep it.

So i felt up to the challenge and decided to give it a shot. when i first connected it to my computer it said detected new device tomtom one v4 and it installed the drivers for it. i then downloaded and installed Home 2 and tried to see if i could update the TT. as expected it failed to detect it. so i started to go through the steps and tried a soft reset and then a hard reset with no luck. i then read somewhere that i should see if i could see the device in windows explorer (which i could) and open it to see the files. windows said that it needed to be formated. so i started to format it and it seemed to be working until the very end when it said the format could not be completed. so after some more research i found out how to get to the device info screen where i found filesystem alignment: not perfect.

Being familiar with computer systems and how they operate i realized that the loader could be reset if the battery was disconnected. so i first tried to drain the battery by leaving it on till it died. apparently there is an automatic sleep feature that activates when the battery is low. so i looked around the toolbox and found the star key that fits the screws on the back and opened it up. after popping off the back plate slowly i noticed two tiny little cables. one lead to the speakers while the other lead straight to the battery pack. so i disconnected both pressed the power button a bunch of times to clear out any power that might be left in the circuits and reconnected them again.