Nubie 540TM user has questions

TomTom Model(s)
possibly a XXL 540TM
I received my 540TM the other day. The first thing I did was plug it into my laptop for 5 hours. Then I followed DHNs posting for making a backup copy of the device. After this, I started practicing using the unit, and now I have some questions.

1) After charging, I was expecting the green charging light at the bottom to go out eventually and it never has. I have checked the battery level after unplugging from either the laptop or the car charger and both times it is just a sliver less than 100% full. Q- Is the green light ever supposed to go out?

2) I understood that my unit was to have 2GB of memory. When I go to Preferences > Version Information, the unit shows there is 64MB of RAM. Why does it not show 2GB? Am I not looking in the right place?

Device AKTGS DAC5N
App 9.061.576030.2, OS567329
(1034, 15/9/2010)
64MB RAM (free: 17.2MB)
GPS v1.20, Boot 5.5279
Map: ‘USA_Canada_and_Mexico_P’ v845.2670
Language: English UK

3) This being my first GPS I am probably lacking a few concepts so bare with me. What is the difference (advantages?) between the Favorites and Recent Destination information? I am thinking if I want to repeat travel to a point I can either make a Favorite out of the destination or just use the Recent Destination entry.

4) The Recent Destination list has a DELETE button at the bottom of the screen but it does not work. When I select an old destination to “delete”, the unit takes me to the travel screen to guide me to that point. What am I missing here? I don’t see how to delete the entry.

5) How do I activate photorealistic images? My instruction booklet says the feature is available under the advanced lane guidance functionality (US only). So far all I have seen on the unit are the crayon-like maps when navigating from one point to another.

Last edited: