Internal Memory & Memory Card Question

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by wjlelectric, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. wjlelectric

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    I have a GO 630 and have always had trouble downloading new maps but I eventually succeded. I recently downloaded the new 855.2884 for North America.
    I have a 16 GB SD card for external memory and I notice I have the following internal and SD memory on my Go 630 :

    Internal 1956.2MB with 1648.2MB left.
    16 GB SD card 15185.5MB with 13486.4MB left.

    I find these numbers high. Did I do something wrong? The 630 works but how do I check the internal and SD for the reason for these high numbers and how do I correct it. I just downloaded the 855 North America map and I have next to nothing loaded on the 630 except for the basic downloads.
    Thanks for any guidance !!!! :confused:
     
    wjlelectric, Oct 26, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. wjlelectric

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    That looks like the Navcore software and TTS voices etc are installed to the device and map is loaded to the SD card, it doesn't appear to be much wrong to me - Mike
     
    mikealder, Oct 26, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. wjlelectric

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    Thanks for the answer. Since I got the GO 630 I have downloaded the new map updates a couple of times but I used the SD card just for the maps and the internal memory for everything else.
    On the previous downloads the the internal and external MB quantity was a lot less.
    This new 855 map update download seemed to have a mind of its own and the download seemed to spread itself on the internal and external memory.
    I will leave it as it is because it works OK. Is there any place on these forums or anywhere else where I can get an explanation and function of the numerous files found on my unit?
    Thanks again for the information and any thing else you can tell me to understand the internal workings of the Tom Tom .
     
    wjlelectric, Oct 28, 2010
    #3
  4. wjlelectric

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A bug in Home's software will often cause the downloaded data (whether it be a map, mapshare info, gps file) to go other than where you selected, or in some cases, BOTH internal and sd storage! :rolleyes:

    Your map will work fine on the card with everything else on internal. What files in particular are you referring to?All loose files (not in any Folder) are normally part of the application itself.
     
    dhn, Oct 28, 2010
    #4
  5. wjlelectric

    widescreenforever

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coquitlam BC
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live1535
    You have to remember the card is supposed to be a 4gb card not a 16 gb card that is why the numbers are so high for availabilty..
     
    widescreenforever, Oct 28, 2010
    #5
  6. wjlelectric

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    Thanks for the above responses. I just put in a 16 GB SD because it was on sale so I bought it.
    I was just curious of all the files when you actually open up in my situation the J drive for the SD and the K drive for the internal memory when you use Windows Explorer.
    Thanks for the answers.
     
    wjlelectric, Oct 29, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.