How do I Transfer maps from SD card to internal memory.

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by CharleyUK88, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hey all, am a newbie here with a possible problem. I bought a genuine TT card from a seller on ebay who said had used it in a TT One XL. The map on the card is Australia. I bought a 2nd hand TT One XL with a memory card slot on the bottom, but it has UK and Ireland maps preinstalled.

    Can I transfer the Australia map onto the XL? I don't need the UK maps, I already have another One XL with UK maps on, but no mem slot. I tried the Aus card in the XL, but when I fired it up, the no card required icon came up, so removed the card, and it fired up as normal with UK maps on. Is it just a case of connecting the TT device to a pc and click and drag the maps over from the card or not that easy?
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 18, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Apart from maps on original TomTom SD cards, all maps are keyed to specific unit serial numbers. So the only way to use a map on a card is to use the card. I wasn't aware that any new map cards had been released for quite some time. What version map does the seller claim it to be?

    There were several different versions of ONE XL (as you've already discovered). Those with slots should accept a genuine card, and it should be possible to use the configuration menu of the ONE to switch maps.
     
    canderson, Jun 18, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, the seller doesn't know what version map is on the card, but it Is a TT one, it has the orange sticker on it, same as the UK one I have in my TT ONE. I tried the card in the ONE, but the ONE says the card is unreadable in the device. I asked the seller which TT he used the card in, and he said it was in a ONE XL.

    I have a ONE XL UK, with UK and Ireland maps, no memory card slot, a ONE XL with Australia and US maps, no memory card slot, a ONE 4.3 screen WITH a slot, and now this ONE XL with a slot that has UK maps in it.

    Unfortunately, when I put the Australia card in, the TT wouldn't finish boot up so am unable to select which maps to read.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 20, 2015
    #3
  4. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Do you have a card reader on your PC?
     
    canderson, Jun 21, 2015
    #4
  5. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, yes, pc has a card reader.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 22, 2015
    #5
  6. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Understand that some ONE units had no internal memory, and that the operating system also had to be resident on the card. IF there is an OS on the card, the device will attempt to boot from the card preferentially.

    Insert the card into your PC's reader and review the content. Look for files 'system' and 'ttsystem' in the root of the card. Are these resident on the card you bought?
     
    canderson, Jun 22, 2015
    #6
  7. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, plugged in the OZ card in pc. I looked in the contents of the card, it has BOTH System and TTSystem. Although the card has these files, inserting it into the slotted One XL stops the device from fully booting up, just the loading screen with the yellow bar, then the memory card symbol with a red X over it, saying to remove the card.

    TT home auto opened.

    On screen was - Device currently connected to computer -

    TOMTOM ONE NEW Edition

    Serial Number - E14376H00615

    Obviously the serial number is different to the TomTom I have.

    The TT ONE XL with the slot has UK maps internally, it is a 512mb internal memory unit.
    I have attached a foto of the TOMTOM Australia card.
     

    Attached Files:

    CharleyUK88, Jun 22, 2015
    #7
  8. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Got on the blower to TOMTOM tech support, they said the device should be able to read the card straight off, if not, then the card is probably corrupted.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 22, 2015
    #8
  9. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The fact that you can read the card 'cleanly' on your PC is good. I believe you now have two problems to deal with.

    First, we need to know whether the system file on that card is compatible with the specific ONE unit you own. IF you can find a file called ttgo.bif (or anything *.bif) on the card, let me know. We should be able to figure out version numbers of both map and firmware from that. Remember, if the unit finds bootable firmware on the card, it will try to use that instead of what's loaded internally.

    Second, there's some sort of comm problem between your ONE and your USB port, potentially including either of those as well. If you own another USB miniB style cable, please give that a try. If you can, please attach to a REAR port on the PC. If you still don't get a clean directory read off the ONE that way, take the cable and ONE to another PC long enough to see if it can be read.
     
    canderson, Jun 23, 2015
    #9
  10. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, looked on the card. It DOES have a ttgo.bif file. I have 3 of the mini usb cables. I have just tried all 3 cables and all 3 connect the Tomtom to pc straight away, no problem. as soon as I plug the TT on, TT Home opens up immediately.

    I even resorted to breaking out the wife's MacBook pro laptop, installed TTHome, and using all 3 cables, detects the device staright away too, so the cables are all ok.

    When I insert the card into the pc on it's own, without the TomTom or cable, TT home also opens immediately.

    I did try to copy and paste the files from the card to pc, but that won't work, I slid the switch down on the card to unlock it, but still won't paste.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 23, 2015
    #10
  11. CharleyUK88

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,073
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Careful, that lock is strictly a write protection.
    Make sure it remains locked before the contents get screwed up.
     
    Arno, Jun 23, 2015
    #11
  12. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, yes, I know. I was just trying to copy and paste the files to pc so wouldn't have to keep plugging and unplugging the card in and out of pc to see what it had, but that's not possible it seems. Have pushed the slider back up afterwards already.

    So now what?
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 23, 2015
    #12
  13. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    So if the serial Number number on the card MUST match the serial number on the device in order to work, then it's useless then?

    Btw, the device is a 512 mb internal memory, and the memory card is a 2gb. The Aus map is 1.47 gb.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 23, 2015
    #13
  14. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No .. it is only necessary that the serial numbers match IF you do not use the card itself. Copying the files to the device won't work, but using map files on the card should do so.

    I believe what may be happening is that your device is trying to boot off the firmware on the card, and it may not be compatible with your specific unit. I'm guessing we'll be seeing version 8.083 in the ONE XL's internal memory.

    Now that you can identify a ttgo.bif file on the card, open it with your favorite word processor or text editor, and tell us what you find on the following lines:

    DeviceSerialNumber = ?
    BootLoaderVersion = ?
    ApplicationVersionVersionNumber = ?
    ApplicationVersion = ?
    CurrentMapVersion = ?

    Now, you should also find a ttgo.bif file on your unit's internal memory. Please provide all of the above for that as well.
     
    canderson, Jun 23, 2015
    #14
  15. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Hi, which folder do I open to find these details? These are the files and folders in the card.

    Here is a list of what files there are.

    Folders;

    9510
    art
    ASR
    bin
    contacts
    cp
    ethem
    extras
    gl
    gns
    itn
    lib
    licenses
    logging
    LoquendoTTS
    script
    Sdkregistry
    skins
    sounds
    voices

    Then these follow, icons or files

    antitheft
    antitheftw
    autorun
    clmdata
    connect2internet
    connect2internet.so
    connect2internetdb.ver
    currentmap.dat
    data.chk
    data_3d.chk
    data_im1.chk
    data_im2.chk
    data_is1.chk
    data_is2.chk
    data_lim.chk
    data_lis.chk
    data_ra.chk
    data_sp.chk
    data_ts.chk

    fm2010parameters
    fmsignal
    install.bif
    libaec_55.so
    libaec_60.so
    libaec_60_2.so
    lowbattery
    lowbatteryw

    mapshareupdate
    mctx.dat
    PNDNavigator
    settings.dat
    signpost.li
    splash
    splashw
    suspend
    suspend
    swap
    system
    tomtom
    ttgo.bif
    tthome.bif
    ttsystem
    userpatch.dat
    watchdogtrace.dat

    I had to manually type in all that!!!

    So which folder or file do I look in to find the necessary details?
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
    CharleyUK88, Jun 24, 2015
    #15
  16. CharleyUK88

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,073
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    As canderson said, ttgo.bif, 5th last in your list.
     
    Arno, Jun 24, 2015
    #16
  17. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    These are the files and folders in the internal memory;

    art
    contacts
    ephem
    gl
    gns
    helpme
    homeimages
    itn
    licenses
    logging
    partial_updates
    phone_database
    poi
    program
    raster
    sounds
    statdata
    TomTom HOME Install.app
    TomTom-cfg
    United Kingdom And Republic Of Ireland
    user patch limerick
    voices
    zip

    antitheftw
    autorun
    bootloadversion
    connect2internet
    connect2internet.db.
    connect2internet
    connect2internet

    Erm, ok, so I think the unit is dying now. I got as far as typing the above when it suddenly just disconnected itself from the pc, and been plugging in and out of the pc, restarting the pc, but the device just won't connect to the pc now. Have done multiple resets on the device, still no avail. have tried all 3 usb cables and still nothing.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 24, 2015
    #17
  18. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Ok, from the card, here is what I got;

    DeviceSerialNumber = E14376H00615
    BootLoaderVersion = 55282
    ApplicationVersionVersionNumber = 9510
    ApplicationVersion = 1234792.1
    CurrentMapVersion = 0.0

    Still trying to get the device to connect to find these.
     
    CharleyUK88, Jun 24, 2015
    #18
  19. CharleyUK88

    CharleyUK88

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    In the device show version screen in the preferences section, I found this

    Device - AK8AG CSATS
    App 8.010(9369/080529)
    OS: 190943
    32 MB RAM (free 4.1MB)
    GPS v1.21, BOOT 5.3026
    Map United Kingdom and Ireland v715.1689

    The serial number on the bottom of the unit is - L23169Y00191
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
    CharleyUK88, Jun 24, 2015
    #19
  20. CharleyUK88

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,380
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Unfortunately, I'm going to be unavailable for a few days, but here's the net of what I am seeing above:

    The firmware on the card is 9.510. That firmware will NOT run on a ONE unit of any flavor, and because it's on the card, that's what your unit is trying to boot.

    The "E1" serial number indicates that the card was last 'successfully' installed in a ONE 2nd Edition that has NO internal memory at all. Do you own a unit with the serial number shown in the ttgo.bif file?

    The unit that you're installing it to is the "L2" serial which is indeed a 512MB version of the ONE XL.
     
    canderson, Jun 25, 2015
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.