How do I Transfer maps from SD card to internal memory.


Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hey all, am a newbie here with a possible problem. I bought a genuine TT card from a seller on ebay who said had used it in a TT One XL. The map on the card is Australia. I bought a 2nd hand TT One XL with a memory card slot on the bottom, but it has UK and Ireland maps preinstalled.

Can I transfer the Australia map onto the XL? I don't need the UK maps, I already have another One XL with UK maps on, but no mem slot. I tried the Aus card in the XL, but when I fired it up, the no card required icon came up, so removed the card, and it fired up as normal with UK maps on. Is it just a case of connecting the TT device to a pc and click and drag the maps over from the card or not that easy?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Apart from maps on original TomTom SD cards, all maps are keyed to specific unit serial numbers. So the only way to use a map on a card is to use the card. I wasn't aware that any new map cards had been released for quite some time. What version map does the seller claim it to be?

There were several different versions of ONE XL (as you've already discovered). Those with slots should accept a genuine card, and it should be possible to use the configuration menu of the ONE to switch maps.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hi, the seller doesn't know what version map is on the card, but it Is a TT one, it has the orange sticker on it, same as the UK one I have in my TT ONE. I tried the card in the ONE, but the ONE says the card is unreadable in the device. I asked the seller which TT he used the card in, and he said it was in a ONE XL.

I have a ONE XL UK, with UK and Ireland maps, no memory card slot, a ONE XL with Australia and US maps, no memory card slot, a ONE 4.3 screen WITH a slot, and now this ONE XL with a slot that has UK maps in it.

Unfortunately, when I put the Australia card in, the TT wouldn't finish boot up so am unable to select which maps to read.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Do you have a card reader on your PC?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Understand that some ONE units had no internal memory, and that the operating system also had to be resident on the card. IF there is an OS on the card, the device will attempt to boot from the card preferentially.

Insert the card into your PC's reader and review the content. Look for files 'system' and 'ttsystem' in the root of the card. Are these resident on the card you bought?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hi, plugged in the OZ card in pc. I looked in the contents of the card, it has BOTH System and TTSystem. Although the card has these files, inserting it into the slotted One XL stops the device from fully booting up, just the loading screen with the yellow bar, then the memory card symbol with a red X over it, saying to remove the card.

TT home auto opened.

On screen was - Device currently connected to computer -

TOMTOM ONE NEW Edition

Serial Number - E14376H00615

Obviously the serial number is different to the TomTom I have.

The TT ONE XL with the slot has UK maps internally, it is a 512mb internal memory unit.
I have attached a foto of the TOMTOM Australia card.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Got on the blower to TOMTOM tech support, they said the device should be able to read the card straight off, if not, then the card is probably corrupted.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
The fact that you can read the card 'cleanly' on your PC is good. I believe you now have two problems to deal with.

First, we need to know whether the system file on that card is compatible with the specific ONE unit you own. IF you can find a file called ttgo.bif (or anything *.bif) on the card, let me know. We should be able to figure out version numbers of both map and firmware from that. Remember, if the unit finds bootable firmware on the card, it will try to use that instead of what's loaded internally.

Second, there's some sort of comm problem between your ONE and your USB port, potentially including either of those as well. If you own another USB miniB style cable, please give that a try. If you can, please attach to a REAR port on the PC. If you still don't get a clean directory read off the ONE that way, take the cable and ONE to another PC long enough to see if it can be read.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hi, looked on the card. It DOES have a ttgo.bif file. I have 3 of the mini usb cables. I have just tried all 3 cables and all 3 connect the Tomtom to pc straight away, no problem. as soon as I plug the TT on, TT Home opens up immediately.

I even resorted to breaking out the wife's MacBook pro laptop, installed TTHome, and using all 3 cables, detects the device staright away too, so the cables are all ok.

When I insert the card into the pc on it's own, without the TomTom or cable, TT home also opens immediately.

I did try to copy and paste the files from the card to pc, but that won't work, I slid the switch down on the card to unlock it, but still won't paste.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Careful, that lock is strictly a write protection.
Make sure it remains locked before the contents get screwed up.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hi, yes, I know. I was just trying to copy and paste the files to pc so wouldn't have to keep plugging and unplugging the card in and out of pc to see what it had, but that's not possible it seems. Have pushed the slider back up afterwards already.

So now what?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
So if the serial Number number on the card MUST match the serial number on the device in order to work, then it's useless then?

Btw, the device is a 512 mb internal memory, and the memory card is a 2gb. The Aus map is 1.47 gb.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
No .. it is only necessary that the serial numbers match IF you do not use the card itself. Copying the files to the device won't work, but using map files on the card should do so.

I believe what may be happening is that your device is trying to boot off the firmware on the card, and it may not be compatible with your specific unit. I'm guessing we'll be seeing version 8.083 in the ONE XL's internal memory.

Now that you can identify a ttgo.bif file on the card, open it with your favorite word processor or text editor, and tell us what you find on the following lines:

DeviceSerialNumber = ?
BootLoaderVersion = ?
ApplicationVersionVersionNumber = ?
ApplicationVersion = ?
CurrentMapVersion = ?

Now, you should also find a ttgo.bif file on your unit's internal memory. Please provide all of the above for that as well.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Hi, which folder do I open to find these details? These are the files and folders in the card.

Here is a list of what files there are.

Folders;

9510
art
ASR
bin
contacts
cp
ethem
extras
gl
gns
itn
lib
licenses
logging
LoquendoTTS
script
Sdkregistry
skins
sounds
voices

Then these follow, icons or files

antitheft
antitheftw
autorun
clmdata
connect2internet
connect2internet.so
connect2internetdb.ver
currentmap.dat
data.chk
data_3d.chk
data_im1.chk
data_im2.chk
data_is1.chk
data_is2.chk
data_lim.chk
data_lis.chk
data_ra.chk
data_sp.chk
data_ts.chk

fm2010parameters
fmsignal
install.bif
libaec_55.so
libaec_60.so
libaec_60_2.so
lowbattery
lowbatteryw

mapshareupdate
mctx.dat
PNDNavigator
settings.dat
signpost.li
splash
splashw
suspend
suspend
swap
system
tomtom
ttgo.bif
tthome.bif
ttsystem
userpatch.dat
watchdogtrace.dat

I had to manually type in all that!!!

So which folder or file do I look in to find the necessary details?
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
These are the files and folders in the internal memory;

art
contacts
ephem
gl
gns
helpme
homeimages
itn
licenses
logging
partial_updates
phone_database
poi
program
raster
sounds
statdata
TomTom HOME Install.app
TomTom-cfg
United Kingdom And Republic Of Ireland
user patch limerick
voices
zip

antitheftw
autorun
bootloadversion
connect2internet
connect2internet.db.
connect2internet
connect2internet

Erm, ok, so I think the unit is dying now. I got as far as typing the above when it suddenly just disconnected itself from the pc, and been plugging in and out of the pc, restarting the pc, but the device just won't connect to the pc now. Have done multiple resets on the device, still no avail. have tried all 3 usb cables and still nothing.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
Ok, from the card, here is what I got;

DeviceSerialNumber = E14376H00615
BootLoaderVersion = 55282
ApplicationVersionVersionNumber = 9510
ApplicationVersion = 1234792.1
CurrentMapVersion = 0.0

Still trying to get the device to connect to find these.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
25
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom One XL
In the device show version screen in the preferences section, I found this

Device - AK8AG CSATS
App 8.010(9369/080529)
OS: 190943
32 MB RAM (free 4.1MB)
GPS v1.21, BOOT 5.3026
Map United Kingdom and Ireland v715.1689

The serial number on the bottom of the unit is - L23169Y00191
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Unfortunately, I'm going to be unavailable for a few days, but here's the net of what I am seeing above:

The firmware on the card is 9.510. That firmware will NOT run on a ONE unit of any flavor, and because it's on the card, that's what your unit is trying to boot.

The "E1" serial number indicates that the card was last 'successfully' installed in a ONE 2nd Edition that has NO internal memory at all. Do you own a unit with the serial number shown in the ttgo.bif file?

The unit that you're installing it to is the "L2" serial which is indeed a 512MB version of the ONE XL.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top