Intermittently not charging

How about the car charger to the TT? Is it the one that came with the unit? When attached to the computer with the provided cable, does it appear to be charging?

How can you tell it stops charging? I know if the unit gets too hot inside a car, the battery will not charge above a certain temp. There are safety concerns involved.

Well, the power light on the unit just indicates that power is getting to the unit, not that the battery is charging. If you do leave it connected for a few hours and then disconnect, does the battery status indicator on the unit seem to show a fuller amount than prior to the connection?

How can you tell it stops charging? I know if the unit gets too hot inside a car, the battery will not charge above a certain temp. There are safety concerns involved.

The battery indicator doesn't show it's charging. The device is very new. It could be like you say, because of the temp. Being a delivery driver I'm using it for hours and it has been hot lately. Will it drain completely if it doesn't cool down?

How about the car charger to the TT? Is it the one that came with the unit? When attached to the computer with the provided cable, does it appear to be charging?

It came with the unit. It charges with the computer fine. It's just when I've been using it for a while it stops charging and then after a while it starts again.

This very issue drove me batty when I used to have it mounted to the windshield on hot days. As yes, as long as the unit stays above a certain temp, a thermal limiter cuts off charging to prevent a possible fire or damage to the unit. It also is possible for the unit to run down if it stays too hot. Tomtom does not clearly tell you this beyonda general advisory about hot vehicles. I purchased a vent mount and problem solved. Not saying this is your problem, but it could be.