intermittently losing satelitte signals..

TomTom Model(s)
XL
I've had a tomtom for years now, and replaced my stolen one last year, with a new XL v1 for the uk. everything was fine until it started to suddenly lose the satelitte signal showing ''waiting for a valid gps signal'' every now and again.This became more of an inconvenience as I'm a mobile engineer, and need to find places fast and accurately. I thought that it might have been the unit as I'd had it over 18 months, and so bought another of the same type, as I use my tomtom all over the world, including the US, and need the sd card expansion slot at the bottom. Imagine my horror to find that that the same thing is happening to my new unit, so I set up an experiment. I took both the tomtoms out with me simultaneously setting the addresses of where I'd want to go. Both units seem to go out of connection with the satellites at the same time, for approximately the same length of time, even in clear skies! Has anybody got any ideas? Are the satelites starting to fail? has TomTom come up with any answers? I await any thoughts and comments as to what people have experienced or know about this problem.Thanks for all your help.

Last edited:
Both units seem to go out of connection with the satellites at the same time, for approximately the same length of time, even in clear skies! Has anybody got any ideas?
Are you familiar with the GPS jammers that some truckers and other 'road' employees have started using? Illegal, but commonly available from several online sources from China. We've had such problems with them on one of our motorways near Newark Airport that they've been causing problems with GPS landing approaches.

I haven't heard that the UK has been playing any games, but we have had a couple of 'jamming' tests by the military here in the U.S. this year that whacked reception pretty good. That's another option.