Charging my TomTom GO 5100

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by kafka, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. kafka

    kafka

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    With my first TomTom I could plug it into a USB port on my computer and after a period of time (a couple of hours) it would be fully charged. With my GO 5100 I plug it into the compueter and leave it for an hour or two but it dosn't charge. If, after doing this, I turn on the GPS without having it connected to either the computer or the cigarette lighter in my car I immediately get a message telling me that the power is low. After a minute or so it dies. Am I missing a step?
     
    kafka, Nov 29, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kafka

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Are you using the cable that came with the device? Has it always acted this way?

    Support to assist:
    Australia
    1300 135 604
    Monday-Friday:9:00 am to 5:30 pm AEST
     
    dhn, Nov 29, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kafka

    kafka

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    Yes, i am using the original cable and I've never had this problem before. I have contacted TomTom Customer Care by email and am hoping for a reply.
     
    kafka, Nov 29, 2017
    #3
  4. kafka

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Phoning is more effective.
     
    dhn, Nov 29, 2017
    #4
  5. kafka

    kafka

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    Problem solved. TomTom Customer Service sent me detailed instruction. My mistake was trying to connect my GPS to the Internet via the dashboard holder. The connection needs to be directly from the TomTom to the computer, which I had forgotten.
     
    kafka, Nov 30, 2017
    #5
  6. kafka

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I'm glad you got it sorted. My fault for not asking the obvious in the first place.
     
    dhn, Nov 30, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.