GPS position no longer on "Navigate to" screen how do I get it back?


Joined
Apr 13, 2018
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO LIVE 1005
Help please - we ave a TomTom GO LIVE 1005 and it has suddenly lost the icon and possibility of putting in a GPS position (Latitude and Longitude) to navigate to....

It was there until a few days ago and also when I select "Help where am I?" it gave me an accurate GPS position.

But suddenly it has stopped - that option is no longer on any of the screens.

How can I get it back URGENTLY please? We have tried resettin several times. We have connected it to the computer to TomTom My Drive Connect and still no solution.

I hope that someone can help please.......

Thanks in anticipation.....
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,275
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
When last did you get a gps fix file? Is your battery fully charged?

Support:
United Kingdom
02079 490 134
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
When you press the "Drive to" icon and use the right arrow to go to the next page, does it not show "Latitude Longitude" as one of the options?
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2018
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO LIVE 1005
No it does no show Latitude and Longitude as an option and yes the battery is fully charged we last were able to INPUT GPS positions a few days ao and it then suddenly stopped that option and removed the icon from the "Navigate to" selection.....

We have been in touch with TT and they said there was a GPS update being done on our machine and to try to reset it again after that had completed - done that and no change at all....

Frustratingto say the least as we use that option most frequently.....
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 13, 2018
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO LIVE 1005
Not sure what you mean Arno by "Community Content"?

I have considered a restore to factory default bu am aware that would remove our long established list of favourites.....

I believe that I can download those first and then add them back later but that isnot something I have ever done either....

OK I admit to not being a technology whiz...... I can turn it on and then follow instructions but any detailed advice or links would be very much appreciated...

We appear to have lost the ability to input Latitude and Longitude and also have lost the "My Location" or "Position of Last Stop"options.

Considering that this device has been used frequently for accessing destinations for middle of the night emergency calls on behalf of the UK ambulance service you will appreciate my worries - we frequently get simply a farm name somewhere in the wilds and are expected to get there within 8 minutes....... deep joy but Google Maps gives us a GPS position....... not a usable address for such things....
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,812
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Not sure what you mean Arno by "Community Content"?

I have considered a restore to factory default bu am aware that would remove our long established list of favourites.....
I believe that I can download those first and then add them back later but that isnot something I have ever done either....
Do not make a factory reset before you saved the data to your PC as everything you added will be lost in that reset.

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13903/~/managing-community-content

If you have problems, just ask.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2018
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO LIVE 1005
Have saved Community Content - thanks for suggestion but still no progress. TT support tells me it is to old to repair and that the TomTom Camper that they advertise on their site is no longer supported as it is old stock...... So they advertise something that is not available and no longer supported as too old....

So it looks like a new one s needed but not sure which one - we have a motorhome so want to be able to set that as a vehicle (as well as car often) but does anyone know if campsites are available on any of the TT now? Or do I have to find them somewhere else?

I do not want to go to Garmin (who do a Camping one) but can TT meet the need?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,812
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Have saved Community Content - thanks for suggestion but still no progress.
That was strictly done to save your information which will be lost in a Factory Reset (put the device in a state as it was when it came from the factory).

Have you ever made a direct back up (copy) to your PC, not using Home.
If not, make a folder on your PC, give it a recognisable name.

Connect your device to the PC, it will be seen in Windows Explorer as a new drive.
If HOME opens, close it with the X.
In Windows Explorer copy the drive to the new folder you had mad. (Drag it with the mouse or copy by Ctrl+C and paste by Ctrl+V.)

I think a new camper device/map is out but one of the other moderators will have to confirm that.

... but does anyone know if campsites are available on any of the TT now? Or do I have to find them somewhere else?
They do not come from TomTom any longer but with the ease of Communty Content you should have no problems finding lists to your liking.

Once you made the backup get back to us.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top