GPS position no longer on "Navigate to" screen how do I get it back?

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Penquin, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. Penquin

    Penquin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO LIVE 1005
    Help please - we ave a TomTom GO LIVE 1005 and it has suddenly lost the icon and possibility of putting in a GPS position (Latitude and Longitude) to navigate to....

    It was there until a few days ago and also when I select "Help where am I?" it gave me an accurate GPS position.

    But suddenly it has stopped - that option is no longer on any of the screens.

    How can I get it back URGENTLY please? We have tried resettin several times. We have connected it to the computer to TomTom My Drive Connect and still no solution.

    I hope that someone can help please.......

    Thanks in anticipation.....
     
    Penquin, Apr 13, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Penquin

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,616
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When last did you get a gps fix file? Is your battery fully charged?

    Support:
    [​IMG] United Kingdom
    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    dhn, Apr 13, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Penquin

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    When you press the "Drive to" icon and use the right arrow to go to the next page, does it not show "Latitude Longitude" as one of the options?
     
    canderson, Apr 14, 2018
    #3
  4. Penquin

    Penquin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO LIVE 1005
    No it does no show Latitude and Longitude as an option and yes the battery is fully charged we last were able to INPUT GPS positions a few days ao and it then suddenly stopped that option and removed the icon from the "Navigate to" selection.....

    We have been in touch with TT and they said there was a GPS update being done on our machine and to try to reset it again after that had completed - done that and no change at all....

    Frustratingto say the least as we use that option most frequently.....
     
    Penquin, Apr 14, 2018
    #4
  5. Penquin

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,616
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Perhaps a complete 'Restore to Factory Defaults'?
     
    dhn, Apr 14, 2018
    #5
  6. Penquin

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    First export Community Content?
     
    Arno, Apr 14, 2018
    #6
  7. Penquin

    Penquin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO LIVE 1005
    Not sure what you mean Arno by "Community Content"?

    I have considered a restore to factory default bu am aware that would remove our long established list of favourites.....

    I believe that I can download those first and then add them back later but that isnot something I have ever done either....

    OK I admit to not being a technology whiz...... I can turn it on and then follow instructions but any detailed advice or links would be very much appreciated...

    We appear to have lost the ability to input Latitude and Longitude and also have lost the "My Location" or "Position of Last Stop"options.

    Considering that this device has been used frequently for accessing destinations for middle of the night emergency calls on behalf of the UK ambulance service you will appreciate my worries - we frequently get simply a farm name somewhere in the wilds and are expected to get there within 8 minutes....... deep joy but Google Maps gives us a GPS position....... not a usable address for such things....
     
    Penquin, Apr 16, 2018
    #7
  8. Penquin

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Do not make a factory reset before you saved the data to your PC as everything you added will be lost in that reset.

    http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13903/~/managing-community-content

    If you have problems, just ask.
     
    Arno, Apr 16, 2018
    #8
  9. Penquin

    Penquin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO LIVE 1005
    Have saved Community Content - thanks for suggestion but still no progress. TT support tells me it is to old to repair and that the TomTom Camper that they advertise on their site is no longer supported as it is old stock...... So they advertise something that is not available and no longer supported as too old....

    So it looks like a new one s needed but not sure which one - we have a motorhome so want to be able to set that as a vehicle (as well as car often) but does anyone know if campsites are available on any of the TT now? Or do I have to find them somewhere else?

    I do not want to go to Garmin (who do a Camping one) but can TT meet the need?
     
    Penquin, Apr 18, 2018
    #9
  10. Penquin

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    That was strictly done to save your information which will be lost in a Factory Reset (put the device in a state as it was when it came from the factory).

    Have you ever made a direct back up (copy) to your PC, not using Home.
    If not, make a folder on your PC, give it a recognisable name.

    Connect your device to the PC, it will be seen in Windows Explorer as a new drive.
    If HOME opens, close it with the X.
    In Windows Explorer copy the drive to the new folder you had mad. (Drag it with the mouse or copy by Ctrl+C and paste by Ctrl+V.)

    I think a new camper device/map is out but one of the other moderators will have to confirm that.

    They do not come from TomTom any longer but with the ease of Communty Content you should have no problems finding lists to your liking.

    Once you made the backup get back to us.
     
    Arno, Apr 19, 2018
    #10
    Penquin likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.