7.15 Map update. Want to know if a street exists, check here.

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by thestaton, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. thestaton

    chasester

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay

    if you are going to where Woodridge Rd starts and Eaglehead Drive ends in New Market MD, 21774.

    And you are going to that location preferably down 70. Does it have you go from 70 to exit 62 (Old National Pike) then then right onto Boyers Mill Road, and a left onto Eaglehead Dr?
     
    chasester, Mar 25, 2008
    1. Advertisements

  2. thestaton

    Internetpilot Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ponte Vedra, Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO700 (Updated)
    Can anyone with v7.15 of the North American maps post or send a screen shot of the following area:

    [​IMG]

    This is Ponte Vedra, Florida, specifically Palm Valley Road and US1. There has been major construction in this area that started over a year ago, and there's now a 4-lane highway that replaced Palm Valley Road, and between US1 and A1A (on the coast) there is now a new town called Nocatee. MapQuest doesn't have it, Google Maps doesn't have it, and I suspect that TomTom doesn't have it yet either. I'm not sure why, since it's THE construction project in NE Florida. I mean, it's not every day that a new town is built from scratch, so you'd think that the map data services would take advantage of the modern planning that went into this and actually be able to map the area out in advance.

    Anyway, I'd appreciate it if anyone can verify this for me.

    Also, just out of curiosity, is there now a round-about (or traffic circle) at the intersection of Mickler Road and Palm Valley Road in Ponte Vedra, Florida. This rather large traffic circle has been there for two years now, but none of the mapping services show it either.

    Thanks again, folks! Usually I'm the mapdata trailblazer offering this service to others, but with the lack of mapdata support, I'm wallet shy now when it comes to purchasing map updates.
     
    Internetpilot, Mar 26, 2008
    1. Advertisements

  3. thestaton

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Chris,

    Im not sure how far out or in you needed this to be but here is a shot for the 1st request

    [​IMG]



    Now here is the screen shot of the next request.


    Again, let me know if u would like me to zoom in and out


    If I have the wrong areas let me know.
    GPS coordinates will help too

    [​IMG]
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 26, 2008
  4. thestaton

    RicanWolf

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    One New Edition, 720
    I just wanted to ask, are there still 0 POI's for Puerto Rico? Im not paying $100 for a new map if it still has none.


     
    RicanWolf, Mar 26, 2008
  5. thestaton

    jfrizzell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    Can someone check 44th Street in Marion, IA and see if it connects up to the south to Hwy 100 / Collins Rd? Version 7.10 still thinks it doesn't connect, but the road was extended approx 4 years ago.
     
    jfrizzell, Mar 26, 2008
  6. thestaton

    Internetpilot Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ponte Vedra, Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO700 (Updated)
    Thanks a ton, Pedro. You are dead-on, as that's exactly what I needed to see. It looks like I'll have to wait a couple of version (probably a couple of years) before these major changes will start showing up. One of the main reasons why I was hoping MapShare would take care of issues like this, since real road updates in my area seem to take forever and a day.
     
    Internetpilot, Mar 26, 2008
  7. thestaton

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Seems to me that it would be a waste of money to by a map more than once a year.
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 26, 2008
  8. thestaton

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    don't bother. There are no POIs for PR listed.
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 27, 2008
  9. thestaton

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    I'll check it out 2morrow morning.
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 27, 2008
  10. thestaton

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    No Problem Chris. Sorry the changes are there.
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 27, 2008
  11. thestaton

    jfrizzell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    I've downloaded 7.15 via latest map guarantee and checked - it's still not there. I've made a correction via MapShare so hopefully this will come back to me eventually.

    Thanks!
     
    jfrizzell, Mar 27, 2008
  12. thestaton

    southpaw35

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone tell me if Duke Street in Conway AR (72032) exists in this release? It's not on anything online but thought I'd check.

    And yeah, I can't imagine updating my maps more than 1 time a year...especially at $100.
     
    southpaw35, Mar 31, 2008
  13. thestaton

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Sorry, it is not listed.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 2, 2008
    1 person likes this.
  14. thestaton

    feejo

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Montreal
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL-S
    I will not buy maps, cause they don't seem's to be worth of, maby in 4 years I will get another GPS then I will have a new map. In 4 ears, I guess they will have better maps + mapshare might work better.

    Is your street Duke way? cause it is on garmin.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2008
    feejo, Apr 3, 2008
  15. thestaton

    southpaw35

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope...it's duke street. But i did see a teleatlas van parked at a neighbor's house so it gives me hope it will be on an update soon.
     
    southpaw35, Apr 7, 2008
  16. thestaton

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Can someone check Silk Ct, Herndon VA 20171? Thanks! Some GPS units have this street and some don't. My TomTom should be arriving here tomorrow and I'm hoping it has this street on there.
     
    STEVESKI07, Apr 25, 2008
  17. thestaton

    ezerhoden

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, One LE
    It is not there. I hear it takes about 2-3 years for new streets to make their way into the map data.
     
    ezerhoden, Apr 25, 2008
  18. thestaton

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    That's a disappointment. My Magellan has it in there and it's at least a year and a half old. On the plus side, I'm moving in a few weeks and will no longer need to set that address as Home. Thanks!
     
    STEVESKI07, Apr 25, 2008
  19. thestaton

    cleveedwards

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    5011 Roy William Pl
    Louisville, KY 40228

    Thanks
     
    cleveedwards, May 11, 2008
  20. thestaton

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Is anyone going to start a thread like this for the 720 map?
     
    Smokiewolf, May 12, 2008
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.