XXL 530S Frozen at at StarpUp on the TomTom Logo

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by blkgold24k, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. blkgold24k

    blkgold24k

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My new TT XXL530S does not pass the TomTom Logo on startup. I have tried Deleting, reinstalling and updating the software with no success. I also tried scanning to TT drive for errors with no success either. Resetting the device by pressing the reset button did nothing. Is there another way to correct this issue since I bought this online and it would be a hastle to return.

    Thanks
     
    blkgold24k, Sep 11, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. blkgold24k

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    First, look at the contents using Explorer (Finder, if a Mac) and delete the mapsettings.cfg file in the specific map folder.

    Then try again to start up the unit.

    If that doesn't work, connect the unit to Home and run the emulator (Operate my unit). Plan a trip and, in the city screen, make sure Canada is selected as the icon. Complete the trip and disconnect properly using Home's Device disconnect icon.

    Any better?
     
    dhn, Sep 11, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. blkgold24k

    blkgold24k

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running Vista...I browsed all the folders and could not find mapsettings.cfg, could this be the problem? There is no map folder.
    Also where can I find the factory installed voices, they were deleted by accident.
     
    blkgold24k, Sep 11, 2011
    #3
  4. blkgold24k

    blkgold24k

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Operate my unit" does not work with this XXL, this feature is not supported by this device is the message I receive and it is grayed out.
     
    blkgold24k, Sep 11, 2011
    #4
  5. blkgold24k

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    And I presume you don't have a backup?
     
    dhn, Sep 11, 2011
    #5
  6. blkgold24k

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    This seems to imply that a lot more has been going on than you've mentioned so far!

    How were the voices accidentally deleted?

    Is there a chance you deleted the named map folder at the same time? (the one called "North America" or "Western Europe" or something similar).
     
    Andy_P, Sep 12, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.