xl 350 will not start up, cannot backup to computer,

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 14, 2017.

  1. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    I am guessing I need to reformat and upload new system to my device. I have the life time map device. I have tried to hold down button at startup to get to screen of system and quickly tap 3 times to get into system and cannot. I can download new maps but cannot operated device.
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 14, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Gerald McBoingboing

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Does your PC see the content of your device? Folders, files, etc?
     
    canderson, Feb 14, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    From what I first see when I connect tomtom to computer is Internal (H) drive then when opened I see folders for contacts, cp, ephem, gns, etc. Then when I double click H drive I get sub folders, etc with data, PND navigator, etc. When I click on tom tom -Cfg I see release note but it won't open - note says file may be corrupt.

    I hope this information is helpful.
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 14, 2017
    #3
  4. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    more notes, when I open tomtom home and peruse the pages, on page two the operate and backup and restore buttons are not highlighted/accessible. Information given when button is clicked the response is "You cannot use this feature because it is not support by your device."

    Hope this note helps my dilemma.
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 14, 2017
    #4
  5. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    canderson - I can do a screen shot of my system information - xl350 if that would be helpful.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 14, 2017
    #5
  6. Gerald McBoingboing

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No, I was just more interested in whether your issues extended to not being able to even see the device on the PC.

    Just so we are clear, what happens when you try to power up your XL350 when it's not connected to anything? What does "will not start up" mean, exactly. How far does it get, and what does it say?

    Before you do any reformatting or anything else that drastic, please ignore Home and make a backup this way for us >>> https://www.tomtomforums.com/thread...-to-the-computer-and-how-to-restore-it.17864/
    That will assure that whatever happens, we likely have the important bits backed up to your PC before we begin any format and restore that may be necessary.
     
    canderson, Feb 15, 2017 at 1:04 AM
    #6
  7. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    1. Just so we are clear, what happens when you try to power up your XL350 when it's not connected to anything? What does "will not start up" mean, exactly. How far does it get, and what does it say?

    answer: the screen that only comes up is the tomtom with hands logo. I push the button to power off and logo stays on screen. to shut off I have to use a pin to access the reset button on the bottom of my device. If I hold down on the button to turn on device I get the system information. I cannot get past that screen with quick tripple click. When I press once on button I get a black screen.

    2. Before you do any reformatting or anything else that drastic, please ignore Home and make a backup this way for us >>

    After re-reading the information you presented, I was able to make a back up to my computer in new tt folder backup as suggested.

    Thanks, now what


    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2017 at 4:17 PM
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 16, 2017 at 3:28 PM
    #7
  8. Gerald McBoingboing

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,357
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    When you connect the device to the computer with the device powered on, can you see the contents of the device using Window's File Manager? In other words, does the device show as a drive letter (like E:\ or F:\ for example)? If so, you can make the manual backup as listed in the link provided by canderson.
     
    dhn, Feb 16, 2017 at 3:32 PM
    #8
  9. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    dhn and canderson, I guess it does help to be prodded more on my part. I did edit my original post above since I was able to backup the tomtom external drive with folders. Now I am ready to move ahead if possible. Thanks
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 16, 2017 at 4:19 PM
    #9
  10. Gerald McBoingboing

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Start by performing a FAT32 'Full' (not 'Quick') format of your unit. You'll need to connect it, so when Home appears, just close it out with the "X" for now. We'll get back to it later.
    Once the format is complete, disconnect your XL with a proper Windows logical USB disconnect (use the icon in the systray) and reconnect it again. This time, when Home appears, it's going to suggest some firmware to you since it won't find any on the unit.

    Accept whatever firmware is offered by Home and get it installed on your unit.
    Perform the proper USB disconnect using Home (I use the little down arrow in the lower right of the Home screen), physically disconnect your unit and connect it again.
    IF Home then offers yet more firmware updates, install them until it ceases to offer any firmware updates.

    At this time, you can minimize (not close) Home to get it out of your way, and go to your PC backup copy of the US/Canada/Mexico or North_America (or whatever it was called on your 350) map folder. Copy that entire folder over in to the root of your XL.
    Bring Home back to the fore and again, do a proper USB disconnect with Home.
    Disconnect your XL from your PC and shut it off. Restart and tell us how you're doing.
     
    canderson, Feb 17, 2017 at 4:36 AM
    #10
  11. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    Thanks for the information and process. I went through the process and I still an not able to operate my xl350. Once I press the on button the screen that comes up is the tomtom icon/logo. I cannot turn the unit off by the button, I click it once nothing, I hold on the button for some time and nothin. I put a pin in the shut down on the bottom of the unit for 10 seconds and it turns off. I hold button to turn back on and the tomtom icon comes up on the screen and nothing is happening. I am going to leave it on with the screen for several minutes to see if anything happens. I might reconsidering doing the wipe again, reformat etc. to see if it works a second time.

    thanks for you help
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 17, 2017 at 7:25 PM
    #11
  12. Gerald McBoingboing

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Thing is definitely locking up during boot.
    Is it fair to assume that no firmware has ever been downloaded and installed from some 3rd party site for this device?

    I assume that you performed the WHOLE process, including moving the folder with your map data back to your device.
    Using your PC, I'd like you to delete the mapsettings.cfg file from that folder on your device. Keep the copy that's on your PC -- it has your favorites and a few other things in it.
    Then try the reset again.
     
    canderson, Feb 17, 2017 at 11:35 PM
    #12
  13. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    thanks for the quick reply,
    no 3rd party firmware
    I am not seeing mapsettings.cfg, only folder for tom tom-cfg
    I looked again at my backup and there isn't a mapsettings.cfg file

    I could be overlooking the file, but I don't believe so. It should be in a obvious folder/file just like tomtom-cfg??
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 17, 2017 at 11:48 PM
    #13
  14. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    tomtom just came to life and asked if I wanted to connect to computer which I said yes. Now downloading phone connection settings and backing up tomtom.

    Reloaded US Map folder, now charging tomtom. I will make another post once charged up and working.

    Will give you update later. Thanks
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 18, 2017 at 12:38 AM
    #14
  15. Gerald McBoingboing

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    FWIW, the folder that contains all of the files for your map (and there will be quite a few in there) contains mapsettings.cfg. It will have some sort of name that includes "USA" or "North America" or similar depending upon the size map you have.
    It's in the map folder that you would have copied back from your PC to your device after you reinstalled the firmware with Home.

    And beware using Home for backups. Best to keep using the procedure that we outlined above for any future backups. Home not always trustworthy, and always overwrites previous backup with any new one, which if your unit is 'broke', can be a bad thing when we need to back to one when it was working!
     
    canderson, Feb 18, 2017 at 1:44 AM
    #15
  16. Gerald McBoingboing

    Gerald McBoingboing

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl350
    I am going to use on a short trip today to see how it works and if voice directions is working correctly. What I have found so far is that I am unable to download new voices, direction images i.e. cars, arrows, sounds i.e. arrival siren, etc. dialog box always states
    1. Dowload Allelouia We're sorry, but HOME can't complete that task. Please try again later
    2. Install to Hard disk Not started, because of earlier failures

    I am seeing error incidents IDs of 494282625, 494550142, 494550897, 494551885, 494552053 I don't know if this information can help


    I have searched internet for help with the above codes and I have found nothing. Thanks again. I will make post after trip today. There are other issues found but mainly interested if I can get directions from point A to B.
     
    Gerald McBoingboing, Feb 19, 2017 at 4:33 PM
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. technodevotee

    Live services not working properly on XL Live IQ Routes

    technodevotee, Jun 11, 2016, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    508
    technodevotee
    Jun 11, 2016
  2. Martha

    XL 340 won't start up

    Martha, Jul 15, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    806
  3. cbcapt

    set up used tom tom 500

    cbcapt, Jul 28, 2016, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,407
    canderson
    Jul 28, 2016
  4. MaxTomXL350

    TomTom XL 350 - screen won't turn on after update

    MaxTomXL350, Dec 31, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    475
    RadioResto
    Jan 29, 2017
Loading...