Which TomToms have lane assist?

TomTom Model(s)
Start 20
Hi all :)

I'm a relatively new driver, still quite wary of going to places I don't know but I try and go to a bit further every time to get used to new places.

I've got a sat nav already but I don't really trust it, I once dropped my Dad off at work and it kept repeating "do a u-turn" at me. Another time I went to Blue Planet Aquarium for my birthday, it's about a 30/45min trip each way but the way back took us at least an hour because it was directing us through side streets and avenues with houses!

Next year however I'm going to Manchester and I'd like to drive there instead of getting the train, it'll be my first time on a motorway and I'd really like a sat nav with lane guidance which I know some TomToms have. But which ones have it, incase I buy the wrong one?

Thanks

Welcome to TTF!

Just about all models sold in the UK have ALG (Advanced Lane Guidance). Think you also want a model with IQ Routing.

See here for more info.

Also, supermod, Mikealder, is UK based and will more than likely provide more info in this thread.

Thanks for the info, I'd hate to have to go through every model I could find just to see which had it and which didn't :)

What does IQ Routing do?

The device I would be looking at is the XL IQ or the XL IQ Live if you are driving over 12K per year, any less than this and the cost of the Live Subscription won't be cost effective. The XL IQ device is a great navigation aid and has the features you want, I should point out it is devoid of Bluetooth so it cannot offer handsfree for the mobile phone but the cost diferential between the XL IQ and a Go-550 which does offer the handsfree isn't worth the extra IMHO (use the spare cash to purchase a decent reliable handsfree kit for the car, or don't accept/ make phone calls when driving).