Updated to 715 North America Maps with no problem

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by sablair, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. sablair

    sablair

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    about 45 N -122 W
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920T
    I was able to update from the 7.10 to the 7.15 maps today without difficulty, thanks in part to the experiences of others documented on this site.

    I called TomTom Customer Support at 5:50 AM time local and spoke with "Krystal" who verified ownership (I sent here a PDF of the invoice from my purchase), waived the requirement I send an image of the "Free Maps for 1 Year" coupon, then placed the North American maps in my download queue. The download and install proceeded without difficulty.

    Earlier I was able to download the W&CE 7.15 maps to a 2GB SD card inserted in the available slot. Note that this map set left 56MB of a 2GB card unused. Krystal confirmed that this configuration is the recommended configuration as the size of the W&CE map has increased about 25% - from 1560 MB to over 1900 MB.

    Krystal also resolved one more question I had had regarding backups on a Macintosh. I run Leopard 10.5.2 and have encountered a strange error when running a backup of the device from within TomTom Go 2.2.2.83. I get a read error for NorthAmerica poi.dat. This is a consistent error from within TomTom Go. As a test, I created a copy of the internal device in a folder on one of my hard drives and this copy proceeded without error. Krystal confirmed that this 'device copy' will serve as a valid system backup which is a bit of a relief to me.

    So far, I couldn't be more pleased with the device, its software and the quality of service I have received from the TomTom support organisation. Of course, YMMV (but I don't think it will V by much).

    Kind regards,

    Stephen Blair
    About 45N, -122W or so
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
    sablair, Feb 25, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sablair

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Hello and welcome.
    Glad you received your map update.
    I have my 7.15 map in my account, but I can't download and install it.
    Im waiting for a response from TT Support.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 25, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sablair

    AS350

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    7.15 Map

    Got it yesterday...seems ok so far...
    had to provide proof and copy of coupon.
     
    AS350, Feb 26, 2008
    #3
  4. sablair

    indiggio

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too. Relatively painless process, save having to scan the documents and upload them to TomTom, then wait for them to put map into account. However, it did go through without a hitch.

    Unfortunately at least one map error (road on map that doesn't exist) didn't make it into new map (road is still on the map, but really isn't there).
     
    indiggio, Feb 26, 2008
    #4
  5. sablair

    ReLLiK75

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same setup and get the exact same error. I had to install TTH on my XP laptop to get my backup to work. Haven't installed the new maps yet because I was told by a TT support guy that I should do a complete reformat of the device before installing. Haven't had time to call back in to get help on actually doing this.

    Also, I need to back up my Euro maps as I'll be needing them in May.
     
    ReLLiK75, Feb 26, 2008
    #5
  6. sablair

    infama

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    11

    Dont use HOME to backup.
    Do a basic manual drag and drop backup with the Mac.
     
    infama, Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    1 person likes this.
  7. sablair

    hc_spooky

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    pedro: there are types of 715 maps. what you have for update is the wrong type. they will switch it for you. easy fix. but you have to wait , but it much faster if you just call them.
     
    hc_spooky, Feb 28, 2008
    #7
  8. sablair

    neilvan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the new map really worth the hassle? Is it any better?
     
    neilvan, Feb 28, 2008
    #8
  9. sablair

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Thanks, I had called them a while back on it. They replaced the upload and my NA 7.15 maps works.
    I don't see much improvement in the L.A. / O.C. area. The POI.dat file is bigger than the 7.10 maps my 920 came with. The other improvement I see is the freeway speed limits posted now. I've experience other map versions before and I've only seen the freeway speed limits on the 6.50 NA map. It is nice to have it return.
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 1, 2008
    #9
  10. sablair

    Starlogic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cannot download it. I have tried it maybe 10 times and I get server time out.:mad:
     
    Starlogic, Mar 2, 2008
    #10
  11. sablair

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Their servers are slow at the best of times. Eventually, it'll work.
     
    dhn, Mar 2, 2008
    #11
  12. sablair

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    At first, TT put the wrong map into home and I couldn't download it. They then replaced it with the proper map and the download went fine but the installation failed. What I found out from TT support is that you have to have
    at least 4GB of hard drive free to install the maps (I didn't use an SD card but probably should have). Once I freed up some space, the install completed without issue.

    The only other problem I'm having is that now TT home shows that my "new" maps are 24 weeks out of date and I have 15,384 MapShare corrections waiting. I have all the boxes selected on Tom Tom to receive mapshare and it is enabled in TT home, but it won't update.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
    wbwjr, Mar 2, 2008
    #12
  13. sablair

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That seems to be a problem with the unit's trying to communicate with the server properly. You will find that one day everything goes smoothly.
     
    dhn, Mar 2, 2008
    #13
  14. sablair

    sablair

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    about 45 N -122 W
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920T
    Behaviour after Updating...

    I concur. I had the same behaviour initially, after updating to the 7.15 maps. I decided to re-sync and after the 2nd or so sync-ing, everything ran correctly and showed that I was now currently up to date.

    Kind regards,

    Steph
     
    sablair, Mar 4, 2008
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.