Will the GO 910 ever be updated? I suspect it requires a firmware update.


Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 910
My 910 does not work now. I do not want to buy a new unit which will only be used very occasionally.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 910
have you connected to Home lately?
No, but yesterday it was appearing to work ok. Stopped to post a letter and on restarting my car the unit did not re- acquire and sats. Why will setting a Home journey make a difference?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 910
Thanks for your reply.
It has just dawned on me that you mean TomTom Home. The answer is yes. I know about the discount offer.
However a friend has the same unit as myself and his is OK.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,410
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
IF all you are suffering from is a satellite lock problem (and not the time being goofy) then here's what I would recommend.
Delete the CONTENT (not the folder) of the folder on your device called "ephemeris".
Then on your PC, find your TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\ephemeris folder and delete the CONTENT (not the folder) of that "ephemeris" folder as well. That will mean deleting one or more folders called "QuickGPSfix".
Then hook back up to Home and get whatever QuickGPSFix file it offers and see if that doesn't get you a decent satellite fix after a couple of minutes.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
4
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 910
Following some test use in which my 910 would take around 2 - 5 mins to become live enough for navigation and sometimes not at all I updated the QuickGPSfix file. The unit now operates with no problems.
I did not delete the ephemeris files.
Many thanks for your assistance.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,410
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Ah .. we had assumed that you periodically updated your device. Might be good practice for the future. What can happen is that a bad internal date mechanism on a file can cause an old file to be used far beyond its useful date. If that winds up in your ephemeris folder, it can prevent future updates to newer fix files.

All said, glad you got it sorted.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top