tt730 Deluxe - problem installing latest map guarantee!!!

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    I just got a new TT730 Go Deluxe:D and I used the "latest map guarantee" feature to download Western & Central Europe but it wont install and it's driving me nuts.:confused: I bought a 4GB SDHC card, thinking that might solve the problem but still no joy.Can anyone advise please?????

    Tahlula
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What happens or doesn't happen when you say it won't install???
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    Hi,
    I get an error report as follows:

    ERROR: DesktopLib/InstallToDevice/GetInstallable/InvalidArchive2: Invalid archive: C:\Documents and Settings\ \My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\map\Western___Central_Europe_2GB-2\Western_and_Central_Europe_2GB.zip
    @ .\framework\InstallToDeviceThread.cpp(990)

    in .\framework\InstallToDeviceThread.cpp:990
    Stack:
    0. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/commit.js:84
    error(textOrException);
    1. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1032
    this._commitFailed(i, commitPage);
    2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:81
    return func.apply(obj, arguments);
    3. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:77
    this._errorCallback(e);
    4. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:69
    this._errorFatal(error);

    Time: Thu, 09 Jul 2009 15:50:50 GMT
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #3
  4. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    My initial thought is that the downloaded compressed .cab file is corrupt.

    The default location on your computer to find it is here:

    C:\Documents and Settings\yourname\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Downloads\complete\map

    Use Explorer to get to that location and right click on the .cab file. Do you have problems doing so?

    A major reason for a corrupt download (from TomTom) is that the dl was via a wireless connection to the internet. If that's how you dl it, I would delete the corrupt cab file and try again with a directly connected computer.
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #4
  5. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    can't find any downloads/ complete map file in the TomTom home 2 folder.
    I don't have a wireless connection, my TT is docked to the computer.
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #5
  6. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    :eek: Oops! I just found the cabinet file :D what should I do now ???
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #6
  7. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Are you SURE you looked in the correct folder as I signified above?

    Use Home to show items on my computer......

    Does it show a map? If so, click 'more info' to see if it is indeed your updated map. If so, you were NOT looking in the correct folder .....

    If it does NOT show the map.......

    then try the download procedure again.
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #7
  8. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Right click on the cab file and see if it opens...
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #8
  9. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    Yep! it opens.
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #9
  10. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Within the cab file, when you open it, do you see:

    -A Western_Europe zip file
    -A WE.toc file
    -2 map gif files
    -An activation map.cab file??
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #10
  11. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    Yes! all those items are in there but the Toc file doesn't have a program associated with it to open it, is that right?
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #11
  12. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The file should be called Western_Europe.toc.

    Is it?
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #12
  13. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    It's called western_and _Central_Europe_2GB.Toc
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #13
  14. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    ok...don't go away for a minute.
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #14
  15. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Follow these steps **carefully**

    1. Insert the sdhc card in the TomTom and connect to the computer. Do NOT start Home.
    2. Use Explorer to create a folder on the card called Western_and_Central_Europe_2GB
    3. Extract all the contents of the Western & CE zip file into this folder.
    4. Extract the contents (one file ending in .dct) of the activation map.cab folder into the Western & CE folder as well.
    5. Make a complete Explorer, not Home, backup of the unit's contents (not the sd card ... yet). Make sure hidden files/folders are showing.
    6. Delete the Western & CE map folder from the UNIT, not the card.
    7. Disconnect the unit PROPERLY from the computer.

    Start up the TomTom. Does it recognize the map?

    Tap the satellite bars to see the version number of the application installed. Now, tap the version number to see the map installed and the version. It should show the NEW map. Does it?

    If so, make a complete Explorer backup of the sdhc card to a different folder.
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #15
  16. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    Are you kidding? You're my hero, Super Moderator!!!
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #16
  17. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    Please don't kill me BUT how do I do step 2??
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #17
  18. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    With the card in the unit and the unit connected to the computer, Explorer should show two additional drives when you click on My Computer in the left pane.

    They should be under the section called Devices with Removable Storage in the right pane.

    The one with the lower of the two letters is probably the sdhc card. Double click on it. It should be empty.

    Now at the top of Explorer, File-->New-->Folder and give it precisely the name I mentioned.
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #18
  19. Tahlula

    Tahlula

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland ( Go on with ya now!)
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go730 Deluxe
    It's not showing up in My Computer.
     
    Tahlula, Jul 9, 2009
    #19
  20. Tahlula

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Are you sure?

    Do you have a card reader to put the sdhc card in? If so, insert the sdhc card in the reader, insert the reader in a usb port and carry on from there.

    What kind of sdhc card did you buy?
     
    dhn, Jul 9, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.