Erratic Mp3 playing TT730


Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
On my TT 730, mp3 music from my SDHC card (4 G) is very erratic. Sometimes I get an error message like, "One moment please, trying to connect". If I change to a different piece of music, sometimes it will play, sometimes not. This morning it started playing through the TT speaker, (instead of FM, as is indicated in the preferences.) It doesn't seem to have much to do with the quality or format of the Mp3s because it randomly seems to work or not work with all my music.

Any thoughts? Gridlok
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,181
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Curious if you were to move the mp3s to a mp3 folder on internal, do you still have issues with the music?

If not, perhaps the card itself is getting wonky and should be replaced, jst a thought.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
I am trying to keep the internal as uncorrupted as possible with the thought that it would operate at its' best that way. It's a new GPS and a new SD card so I wasn't thinking of a hardware problem.

Gridlok
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,181
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Storing mp3s on internal is hardly corrupting the unit or its functionality.

Obviously, you have a problem. Without a little experimentation, it's difficult to pinpoint what is causing the problem. The card, hardware, what?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
OK then. I don't know how many songs I can get on the hard drive to test it. Do you think it makes a difference? I'll try a few anyhow.

Gridlok
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
Just tried 5 songs direct to the internal drive and it worked perfectly! So that means my new sdhc card is not up to snuff? Are there special cards other than having the hc designation that I need?

Gridlok
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,357
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Just tried 5 songs direct to the internal drive and it worked perfectly! So that means my new sdhc card is not up to snuff? Are there special cards other than having the hc designation that I need?

Gridlok
Any respectable card will show it's speed as a "class". Does your show itself to be a "Class 2", "Class 4", "Class 6" or ???
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
My card says,"4GB, SDHC and 2. I just bought it specifically for my TomTom.
Don't know if it's "respectable" or not.

Gridlok
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,181
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
I suspect the '2' refers to the class of speed. Candidly, a '2' may be too slow for TomTom's application to handle in terms of reading/writing.

A class 6 is quite good and a 4 is acceptable but a 2, I'm not sure..........
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
3,199
Location
Blackpool UK
TomTom Model(s)
720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
A class 2 card is rather slow, you would get better results with a class 6 SDHC card - Mike
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
So if a class 6 is the best, I will go get one. Anything else I should know? I ask because the info I have been able to get doesn't say anything about the speed of SD cards, only the capacity.

Thanks, by the way. Hope this works.
Gridlok
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
I see there is a class 10 available. Would this be even better?

Gridlok
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
3,199
Location
Blackpool UK
TomTom Model(s)
720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
Class 6 is more than adequate, if you do go for the class 10 card its rather similar to feeding a pig on first class strawberries - A bit of a waste of time and money - Mike
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
Haha! OK, no strawberries then! I'll try a class 6 - thanks,

Gridlok
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
81
TomTom Model(s)
Go720
Just thought I'd let you know, the new 8GB class 6 SD card works perfectly (so far). Whish I'd know that before I upgraded to the HC - oh well.

Thanks, Gridlok
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top