MP3 Fm Transmitter interfering with GPS navigator

TomTom Model(s)
XL 340
I have recently discovered that GPS navigator can fail to operate if it gets interference from mp3 fm transmitters.

I have been using Tom tom GPS navigator (XL 340) for almost 3 years now and was very satisfied with the product until recently when all of a sudden my GPS stopped working and was always displaying ' waiting for a valid satellite .... ' . Tom tom support advised me to re-set and update software.
The update / resetting did not fix the issue and I found that the whole issue was caused by interference from mp3 Transmitter frequency (we recently change frequency on the mp3 transmitter to avoid interference from local FM stations and this change didn't agree with the GPS unit) . I have since change the frequency of the mp3 transmitter and GPS is working fine since then.

Just sharing this so other tom tom users can benefit from this.

Question is how can certain FM frequencies interfere with GPS operation ? Also could this be experienced in an area where local FM Radio stations are operating on such frequency ?

Strange. Back in 'the day' (e.g., GO 720, 930, etc), TomTom was using FM modulators for music and navigation right in the unit, and didn't seem to have any interference problems.

There is no particularly good reason why an FM modulator should interfere with the GPS receiver unless one of a couple of things happens. First, it could be overloading the front end of the GPS. This would require very close proximity or a rather higher (possibly than legal) power modulator.

The second and even far less likely is that the 15th harmonic of your modulator's ~105MHz output is actually strong enough to toss a signal up into the L1 GPS band (~1575MHz). Again, that would require extreme proximity to the GPS unit, and kind of an ugly transmitter.

In no case should proximity to an FM transmitter blow out GPS reception.