TomTom XXL update problem


Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
Dear Tech Gurus
i have TomTom XXL with i have tried to update, i was unsuccessful with the error message of not sufficient memory.
i have backed up and format the drive, hence after that i am getting error of Can not creat this file F:\ephem\lto.dat and installation not started becasue of earlier failures.
can some one suggest solution for this please
thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Also, was your backup made device (drive letter) to PC or did you use Home to do the backup?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
Also, was your backup made device (drive letter) to PC or did you use Home to do the backup?
Hi
I think i must have used home for back up
But when i connect it i can not see any back up option in Home
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
The second screen of Home has a backup/restore tab.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
Hi DHN
yes
i have backed up now and manage to start device.
unfortunately it starts without maps in it.
when i connect to home it says it can't be updated
 

Attachments

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I think i must have used home for back up
Unless dhn or canderson have an idea how to get an old map onto your device I am afraid it may be the end.
Your PC, without being connected to Home should recognise your device as an external drive, with a drive letter, can you see that?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
Hi Arno
yes when i connect, my PC recognise it as an eternal drive
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Let's see what happened with Home, which we do NOT recommend for backups - but we'll get to that later.
First, tell me which operating system you have on your PC so that I can point you to the right folder location.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
OK. We're going to look in two places. One, is where home puts stuff, Next, we're going to see if you ever downloaded a full map for your device that might still be resident.

For the possible download:
C:\Users\{yourusername}\Documents\TomTomUpgrade\HOME\Download\complete\map
Are there any folders within THAT folder?

Then for your backup (let me know if there are more folders there than JUST one called Backup01):
C:\Users\{yourusername}\Documents\TomTomUpgrade\HOME\Backup\GO\Backup01\InternalMemory\
Are there any folders there with the name Europe or UK&ROI or anything like that present in THAT folder?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
OK. We're going to look in two places. One, is where home puts stuff, Next, we're going to see if you ever downloaded a full map for your device that might still be resident.

For the possible download:
C:\Users\{yourusername}\Documents\TomTomUpgrade\HOME\Download\complete\map
Are there any folders within THAT folder?

Then for your backup (let me know if there are more folders there than JUST one called Backup01):
C:\Users\{yourusername}\Documents\TomTomUpgrade\HOME\Backup\GO\Backup01\InternalMemory\
Are there any folders there with the name Europe or UK&ROI or anything like that present in THAT folder?
Ok

i have C:\Users\Piyush\Documents\TomTomUpgrade\HOME where Home is empty folder.
also i have anther C:\Users\Piyush\Documents\TomTom\HOME with four folders within home folder. backup, download, from device, sharing
which seems my previous device
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
According to the first result, a Home backup was never made. Would swear I read somewhere above that you performed one.
Ah, two versions of Home, and two update download paths. OK.
As for the second result, you need to dig into the C:\Users\Piyush\Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete looking for a map folder below that.

Before we continue -- what's this about a "previous device"? Something before your XXL?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
tomtom xxl
According to the first result, a Home backup was never made. Would swear I read somewhere above that you performed one.
Ah, two versions of Home, and two update download paths. OK.
As for the second result, you need to dig into the C:\Users\Piyush\Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete looking for a map folder below that.

Before we continue -- what's this about a "previous device"? Something before your XXL?
Hi Canderson
i have Two devices - Tomtom start and Tomtom XXL
the problem i had with Tomtom XXL which i am using currently.
i believe i had backed up but i could not find any map folder. there are four folders C:\Users\Piyush\Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete - ephemeris, program, safetycamera, voice
so its clearly that maps are nowhere there.
its case to find maps download for it
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
If no maps can be found on any computer you may have used with the XXL device, I'm afraid you are out of luck. The devices that depend on Home can't retrieve maps from the TT server the way the newer devices can, and the Home era maps are keyed to the serial number of the device for which they were built. I wish I had better news.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top