Tom Tom XXL 550T Help Planning Route Manually

Discussion in 'Navcore' started by Happycat, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. Happycat

    Happycat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Central Indiana
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    How do I start a route from home of my choice manually? Thanks,Happycat :eek:
     
    Happycat, Jun 9, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Happycat

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Jun 9, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Happycat

    Happycat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Central Indiana
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    To confussing to start with, I just need a route to the city I'm going to to my destination..I know how to get to Indianapolis I just need to get from there to other side of the city,Thanks
     
    Happycat, Jun 9, 2013
    #3
  4. Happycat

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Unless I'm misunderstanding your problem, it should be pretty straightforward.

    If you just go to "Navigate to..." the next screen (actually 2 screens) should give you a list of options, such as "Home" "point on map", "address" etc.

    Choosing "Address" should then give you options of "City Center", "City + Street" etc.

    The exact choices you get depend on the country you are in - in the UK I also get the choice of postcode which you won't have, but you will have a small icon in the top right to choose a State, which I won't get.

    So if you have a full address where you want to go to, just select the full address option and enter town and street when asked, or if you want to go to a city centre, select that option instead.
    In both cases, tap the state icon first if the address is in a a different one.

    Hope that helps. If I've got completely the wrong end of the stick, just reply and try to explain your exact need in a different way.
     
    Andy_P, Jun 9, 2013
    #4
  5. Happycat

    Happycat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Central Indiana
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    Thanks for the reply...I know how to get a route to my destination but I wanted a different route to avoid a traffic spot and couldn't get it to give it to me...I knew mostly how to get there but needed help after I got off the interstate 465 around Indianapolis..Thanks,again...Bob
     
    Happycat, Jun 9, 2013
    #5
  6. Happycat

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,843
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    If you are trying to avoid a traffic issue that you know is ahead, use the Navigate to again, then change the route with "Avoid part of route" or "Avoid roadblock". The former removes entire sections from your route, and the latter routes around problems ahead at a specific distance from your location.
     
    canderson, Jun 9, 2013
    #6
  7. Happycat

    Happycat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Central Indiana
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    Thank you..
     
    Happycat, Jun 9, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.