Tech questions about XL 4ET03

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Daniel 452, Sep 26, 2020.

  1. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    New to this device so have a heart.
    Connecting this to PC, I get no device listed in explorer. Now the battery was near dead, could that be an issue ?
    Yet to install the home software, are there drivers that install with this ?
    Any how to's opening the device ? I will be looking on youtube.
    Version for this is 9.15. anything newer ??
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 26, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Daniel 452

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Before you do anything charge the device from a wall charger for at least 2 hours.
    If charging through the PC USB, make it 6 hours.

    Without using HOME when you connect to the PC it will show as a separated drive letter.

    If you see that, make a complete File Explorer back up to a file on your PC do not use HOME at this stage.

    HOME is software on you PC to communicate with the device, nothing gets installed on the device by connecting.

    Let us know when you made that PC backup.
     
    Arno, Sep 26, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    canderson, Sep 26, 2020
    #3
  4. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    OK, charged the device several hours. Connect to PC, win explorer sees nothing.
    First 3 of the serial number is GJ1.
    Plug in my phone it finds the new device, plug in the tomtom,,nothing.
    ?? any thoughts.
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 27, 2020
    #4
  5. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Here in the US they called that one an XL IQRoutes²
    If you look on the bottom of the device, you should see a small hole.

    Haven't had to do this in ages, so hope I get the sequence right! Perhaps dhn will add his 2 cents (you there, David?)

    With the device fully charged, plug in the USB.
    While holding the power button down, VERY CAREFULLY insert the end of a paper clip into the hold to depress the reset button inside the hole.
    Release the paper clip. Wait for the TomTom drums and as soon as you hear them, release the power button.

    See if the PC sees the device now as a mass storage device (on the order of a thumb drive or similar).
     
    canderson, Sep 27, 2020
    #5
  6. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    Looked like it did a complete reset but no change. Any hidden menu that deals with PC connection ?
    In Tomtom home, the route planner sees the device, so that part works.
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 28, 2020
    #6
  7. Daniel 452

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Wonder whether this might be a Windows driver issue.
     
    dhn, Sep 28, 2020
    #7
  8. Daniel 452

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    With Home, what does it show what is on the device and what is on the computer (based on having made a Home back up once).
     
    Arno, Sep 28, 2020
    #8
  9. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Whoa -- that's a new data point! If Home can see it, then clearly your computer can see it, and the problem is only one of not being able to be displayed as a storage device.
    What operating system are you using?
     
    canderson, Sep 28, 2020
    #9
  10. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    With your device plugged in and Home running, on Home, click the tab at the top for Help, then System Information



    System Information.jpg

    Then observe the information under "Connected Device".
    What drive letter shows up in the "Storage devices" line?


    Connected Device.jpg
     
    canderson, Sep 28, 2020
    #10
  11. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    Running windows 10 on a dell inspion, supposedly all the latest drivers and updates. So far, it sees everything connected to the USB such as smart phones and thumb drives with no issue. Let me try a screenshot of 'HOME'.
    Under 'manage my device' there are no items to display.
    System information (2 shots)
    Shows no device connected.
    ?????
     

    Attached Files:

    Daniel 452, Sep 28, 2020
    #11
  12. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    OK, my bad, thought I was seeing the device trip planner,,not the case.
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 28, 2020
    #12
  13. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    OK - to clarify, you do or don't have an app that sees the device?
     
    canderson, Sep 28, 2020
    #13
  14. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    On this computer, the device doesn't exist. I have another bench machine I am going to try this on but have a lot on the plate. Understand this is just a tinker trinket, it works well, but not high on any priority list.
    I have an old Motorola MC 5574 with a couple really nice on/off road GPS programs, just wondering if the Tomtom had something similar. I presume this runs Linux OS so should be able to change out the current app.
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 30, 2020
    #14
  15. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    If rebooting it while it is connected isn't working, we're down

    a) USB port (always use a primary one)
    b) cable (have a spare anywhere to try?)
    c) device no longer able to communicate (quite possibly a bin job, sadly) attributable to bad hardware or a corrupt bootloader that we can't reload, because we can't talk to the device over the USB port.

    TomTom really doesn't support ANY useful offroad functions. No one does much for automotive devices. For that, I'm recommending one of the larger screen Garmin 'handhelds' with OSM maps. I personally prefer http://www.gmaptool.eu/en/content/usa-mountain-osm-topo-routable since it provides a routable topo with a heck of a lot of good content. The crowdsourced OSM maps tend to get down to quite a level of detail, providing trails, FSroads and all of that.
     
    canderson, Sep 30, 2020
    #15
  16. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    I haven't tried the bench computer yet so still up in the air with this. If it doesnt work, so be it.
    I have a decent tablet, 1 Motorola phone, the MC55, all with direct GPS RX that work very well.
    Boot loaders,,no problem, I can even write my own.(been there-done that) I can open the device, locate the service port (JTAG) , access the TAP, and own this device. This thing is a refugee from the dumpster and won.t be buying any more GPS gizmos. The tinkering is how I spend my time.
    3 GPS apps on the MC55 are 1> 'TGPS' (favorite) interfaces well with Google earth, has all the bells and whistles needed including downloading KLM with course plots/waypoints etc. 2> GPS cycle computer, much the same thing, not as flexible. 3> back country naviator, a cut back TGPS. This stuff is not available or Android but heard of simalers for Linux. Just impressed with the acquisition time and sensitivity of the Tomtom.
     
    Daniel 452, Sep 30, 2020
    #16
  17. Daniel 452

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Wish there was a JTAG interface available. You'd think there would be one for flashing/reflashing code at a minimum, but that's now how they do it. All of that was done via USB back in the day.
    What kind of routable maps are available for the MC55 apps that provide decent Forest Service road and trail info?
     
    canderson, Sep 30, 2020
    #17
  18. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    I am betting there is a TAP connection, 2 wire,3 wire or pads for traditional 5 pin. After assembly they have to have a way to get the firmware onto the device. Seems everything made today with a brain has that. TVs, routers, toothbrushes.
    No USB without firmware and drivers. Think SPI port to the flash. Access the TAP, you get that AND the rom/ram in the brain chip.
    Maps on the MC55 are what ever you can bring up on Google earth. Plot your routs, waypoints and such then download as KLM file, load that into the GPS software and go. Even used this for piloting a small plane cross country. Find some destination on the planet, GE gives the LON/LAT, plot your course including waypoints like fuel stops, good food joints, a scenic overlook on trails.
    Worst part of the obsolete MC55 is taking a minute to first fix but gets you within 10 meters.
    Just looking up TGPS and see the site is no longer, but searching brought up several pocket PC app that look even better, the newer stuff.
     
    Daniel 452, Oct 1, 2020
    #18
  19. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    Tell me how to properly dismantle this, I can look to see if it has any TAP access.
    Guessing it is like changing a battery..
     
    Daniel 452, Oct 1, 2020
    #19
  20. Daniel 452

    Daniel 452

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 4ET03
    Worst case is the flash is programmed before assembly and the CPU rom by the mask at manufacture.
     
    Daniel 452, Oct 1, 2020
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.