Tech questions about XL 4ET03


Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
New to this device so have a heart.
Connecting this to PC, I get no device listed in explorer. Now the battery was near dead, could that be an issue ?
Yet to install the home software, are there drivers that install with this ?
Any how to's opening the device ? I will be looking on youtube.
Version for this is 9.15. anything newer ??
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,711
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Before you do anything charge the device from a wall charger for at least 2 hours.
If charging through the PC USB, make it 6 hours.

Without using HOME when you connect to the PC it will show as a separated drive letter.

If you see that, make a complete File Explorer back up to a file on your PC do not use HOME at this stage.

HOME is software on you PC to communicate with the device, nothing gets installed on the device by connecting.

Let us know when you made that PC backup.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Specifically, we recommend this method for your backup >> https://www.tomtomforums.com/thread...-to-the-computer-and-how-to-restore-it.17864/
To be 100% clear which model you have, please advise the first two characters of your serial number.
And yes, due to a snafu that many manufacturers encountered a year ago last April, there is likely new code for your device.
OK, charged the device several hours. Connect to PC, win explorer sees nothing.
First 3 of the serial number is GJ1.
Plug in my phone it finds the new device, plug in the tomtom,,nothing.
?? any thoughts.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Here in the US they called that one an XL IQRoutes²
If you look on the bottom of the device, you should see a small hole.

Haven't had to do this in ages, so hope I get the sequence right! Perhaps dhn will add his 2 cents (you there, David?)

With the device fully charged, plug in the USB.
While holding the power button down, VERY CAREFULLY insert the end of a paper clip into the hold to depress the reset button inside the hole.
Release the paper clip. Wait for the TomTom drums and as soon as you hear them, release the power button.

See if the PC sees the device now as a mass storage device (on the order of a thumb drive or similar).
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Looked like it did a complete reset but no change. Any hidden menu that deals with PC connection ?
In Tomtom home, the route planner sees the device, so that part works.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,185
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Wonder whether this might be a Windows driver issue.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Looked like it did a complete reset but no change. Any hidden menu that deals with PC connection ?
In Tomtom home, the route planner sees the device, so that part works.
Whoa -- that's a new data point! If Home can see it, then clearly your computer can see it, and the problem is only one of not being able to be displayed as a storage device.
What operating system are you using?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
With your device plugged in and Home running, on Home, click the tab at the top for Help, then System Information



System Information.jpg


Then observe the information under "Connected Device".
What drive letter shows up in the "Storage devices" line?


Connected Device.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Whoa -- that's a new data point! If Home can see it, then clearly your computer can see it, and the problem is only one of not being able to be displayed as a storage device.
What operating system are you using?
Running windows 10 on a dell inspion, supposedly all the latest drivers and updates. So far, it sees everything connected to the USB such as smart phones and thumb drives with no issue. Let me try a screenshot of 'HOME'.
Under 'manage my device' there are no items to display.
System information (2 shots)
Shows no device connected.
?????
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
OK, my bad, thought I was seeing the device trip planner,,not the case.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
OK - to clarify, you do or don't have an app that sees the device?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
On this computer, the device doesn't exist. I have another bench machine I am going to try this on but have a lot on the plate. Understand this is just a tinker trinket, it works well, but not high on any priority list.
I have an old Motorola MC 5574 with a couple really nice on/off road GPS programs, just wondering if the Tomtom had something similar. I presume this runs Linux OS so should be able to change out the current app.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
If rebooting it while it is connected isn't working, we're down

a) USB port (always use a primary one)
b) cable (have a spare anywhere to try?)
c) device no longer able to communicate (quite possibly a bin job, sadly) attributable to bad hardware or a corrupt bootloader that we can't reload, because we can't talk to the device over the USB port.

TomTom really doesn't support ANY useful offroad functions. No one does much for automotive devices. For that, I'm recommending one of the larger screen Garmin 'handhelds' with OSM maps. I personally prefer http://www.gmaptool.eu/en/content/usa-mountain-osm-topo-routable since it provides a routable topo with a heck of a lot of good content. The crowdsourced OSM maps tend to get down to quite a level of detail, providing trails, FSroads and all of that.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
I haven't tried the bench computer yet so still up in the air with this. If it doesnt work, so be it.
I have a decent tablet, 1 Motorola phone, the MC55, all with direct GPS RX that work very well.
Boot loaders,,no problem, I can even write my own.(been there-done that) I can open the device, locate the service port (JTAG) , access the TAP, and own this device. This thing is a refugee from the dumpster and won.t be buying any more GPS gizmos. The tinkering is how I spend my time.
3 GPS apps on the MC55 are 1> 'TGPS' (favorite) interfaces well with Google earth, has all the bells and whistles needed including downloading KLM with course plots/waypoints etc. 2> GPS cycle computer, much the same thing, not as flexible. 3> back country naviator, a cut back TGPS. This stuff is not available or Android but heard of simalers for Linux. Just impressed with the acquisition time and sensitivity of the Tomtom.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,386
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Wish there was a JTAG interface available. You'd think there would be one for flashing/reflashing code at a minimum, but that's now how they do it. All of that was done via USB back in the day.
What kind of routable maps are available for the MC55 apps that provide decent Forest Service road and trail info?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Wish there was a JTAG interface available. You'd think there would be one for flashing/reflashing code at a minimum, but that's now how they do it. All of that was done via USB back in the day.
What kind of routable maps are available for the MC55 apps that provide decent Forest Service road and trail info?
I am betting there is a TAP connection, 2 wire,3 wire or pads for traditional 5 pin. After assembly they have to have a way to get the firmware onto the device. Seems everything made today with a brain has that. TVs, routers, toothbrushes.
No USB without firmware and drivers. Think SPI port to the flash. Access the TAP, you get that AND the rom/ram in the brain chip.
Maps on the MC55 are what ever you can bring up on Google earth. Plot your routs, waypoints and such then download as KLM file, load that into the GPS software and go. Even used this for piloting a small plane cross country. Find some destination on the planet, GE gives the LON/LAT, plot your course including waypoints like fuel stops, good food joints, a scenic overlook on trails.
Worst part of the obsolete MC55 is taking a minute to first fix but gets you within 10 meters.
Just looking up TGPS and see the site is no longer, but searching brought up several pocket PC app that look even better, the newer stuff.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Tell me how to properly dismantle this, I can look to see if it has any TAP access.
Guessing it is like changing a battery..
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XL 4ET03
Worst case is the flash is programmed before assembly and the CPU rom by the mask at manufacture.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top