ONE XL can no longer find any Satellites

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by nikolay23, Jun 16, 2019.

  1. nikolay23

    nikolay23

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL
    My older GPS ONE XL can no longer acquire any satellites. Is it related to April 6th update that was done by TomTom? Any suggestions as to what to try? Thank you,
     
    nikolay23, Jun 16, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nikolay23

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Open HOME, USB connect your device and see what updates are offered.
    Before downloading I usually make a PC screen print to locate the culprit should something go wrong.
     
    Arno, Jun 17, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nikolay23

    nikolay23

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL
    I did already and installed 1 offered update for GPS quickfix. Not helping. Reading online lots of people had the same problem after april 6th tomtom update. Not sure where to go from here.
     
    nikolay23, Jun 17, 2019
    #3
  4. nikolay23

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Call Customer Support ?
    United States
    877-757-7137
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST
     
    Arno, Jun 19, 2019
    #4
  5. nikolay23

    Carrington B

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom Go Live 1005 live camper & Caravan
    Had the same pro with my go 1005 camper Tom Tom, at first the support team said I was the only one with a problem and that it was not caused by the update, after several weeks and many emails and phone calls they have accepted that the update would not work on this model.they are not prepared to fix the problem but offers me a discount on a new one. They started at 25% the moved to 30% and finally offered 35%.
    I have declined their offer and suggested that they take my unit back to repair or offer a discount of 50% which they have declined
    They do not seem interested in good customer relations at all but only in selling another unit at £370 before the discount ( bearing mind I paid £350 for this model in December 2012 I am not prepared to pay what they are offering)
    If any can offer a soloution I would be very greatful
     
    Carrington B, Jul 15, 2019
    #5
  6. nikolay23

    nikolay23

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL
    I also argued with techsupport. Totally useless. They admitted it was caused by an update, but there is no solution besides buying a new unit. Mine seems to be kind of working now for a few hours and then it looses the signal. Also i need to soft reset it before each use, otherwise it won't connect. Try the same.
     
    nikolay23, Jul 17, 2019 at 11:38 AM
    #6
  7. nikolay23

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,729
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    IF all you are suffering from is a satellite lock problem (and not the time being goofy) then here's what I would recommend.
    Delete the CONTENT (not the folder) of the folder on your device called "ephemeris".
    Then on your PC, find your TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\ephemeris folder and delete the CONTENT (not the folder) of that "ephemeris" folder as well. That will mean deleting one or more folders called "QuickGPSfix".
    Then hook back up to Home and get whatever QuickGPSFix file it offers and see if that doesn't get you a decent satellite fix after a couple of minutes.
     
    canderson, Jul 17, 2019 at 12:25 PM
    #7
  8. nikolay23

    jaap_pijcke_au

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via 225
    I have the same issues wit 3 different Tomtom devices (mine Via 225) still searching for GPS signal while uploaded all SW updates. Tried to call support but tomtom is not answering the phone...bad support
     
    jaap_pijcke_au, Jul 17, 2019 at 1:21 PM
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.