Can no longer correct position

Discussion in 'In-Dash Navigation' started by mikefawcett88, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. mikefawcett88

    mikefawcett88

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    carminat
    Hi,
    I used to have the option to correct the vehicle position but that choice seems to have disappeared after a recent upgrade. I downloaded the latest version again yesterday and it is still not available. The position of my vehicle is always about 20 metres behind its true position.
    Any ideas guys?
     
    mikefawcett88, Mar 10, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mikefawcett88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,357
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    When was the last time you got a gpsfix file and what option are you referring to that corrected the position?
     
    dhn, Mar 10, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mikefawcett88

    mikefawcett88

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    carminat
    Option - browse map - cursor position - correct errors
    Sorry I don't know anything about a gpsfix file
     
    mikefawcett88, Mar 10, 2015
    #3
  4. mikefawcett88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,357
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    I'm not too conversant with the carminat model. Do you connect it to Home for its updates?
     
    dhn, Mar 10, 2015
    #4
  5. mikefawcett88

    mikefawcett88

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    carminat
    Yes I use Home by putting the SD card into my laptop.
     
    mikefawcett88, Mar 10, 2015
    #5
  6. mikefawcett88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,357
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds unless your model has a dedicated reset hole. Also, don't have too many poi categories showing on the map at one time. Slows down the screen refresh.
     
    dhn, Mar 10, 2015
    #6
  7. mikefawcett88

    mikefawcett88

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    carminat
    I have removed and replaced the gpsfix file via TT Home.
    The accuracy may now be a little better.
    Does the suggestion about the power button apply to a built-in unit?
     
    mikefawcett88, Mar 10, 2015
    #7
  8. mikefawcett88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,357
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    For a drum reset, yes. You should not lose any data when you do a reboot of the device.
     
    dhn, Mar 10, 2015
    #8
  9. mikefawcett88

    mikefawcett88

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    carminat
    Thanks for all the help guys.
    I tried the reset using the power button but that didn't seem to do anything - the unit just switched on after a while.
    Is that the same as doing a factory reset?
    However, I didn't realise I had so many POI's switched on!
    I have deselected all of them and now when the car is stationary the position looks correct and when moving the error looks much smaller.
    Thanks again. ☺
     
    mikefawcett88, Mar 12, 2015
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. rockblock

    Correcting custom POI position: can you move instead of add/delete ?

    rockblock, Dec 16, 2007, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    767
    rockblock
    Dec 16, 2007
  2. rustyone

    can't correct map

    rustyone, Jan 3, 2008, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    955
    rustyone
    Jan 3, 2008
  3. feejo
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    635
    feejo
    Mar 31, 2008
  4. hardware850

    Can't Correct Map For "no Left Turn"

    hardware850, Jul 30, 2008, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,061
    feejo
    Aug 1, 2008
  5. hardware850

    Can't Correct Map For Dead-end

    hardware850, Jul 30, 2008, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    898
    Pedro2NR
    Aug 9, 2008
Loading...