No map, No space available - tip for Mac Users

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by Armand DeMille, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. Armand DeMille

    Armand DeMille

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go and TomTomONE
    Hi. I caused myself a problem by mistakenly thinking my map update had stopped loading and quit the download. I tried to replace the map on the unit by copying the folder to my desktop, then deleting the one on the unit, but when I tried to reinstall the map using TomTom home I got the "no space available" message. I worked with TomTom support and discovered that the problem was that after deleting the file from the unit, YOUR TRASH NEEDS TO BE EMPTIED! That will free up the space you need to reinstall or download an updated map.
     
    Armand DeMille, Sep 4, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Armand DeMille

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    I'd swear I used to have a sticky around here to that effect. Yes, it's a stupid thing to set up a 'local' trash can on a device like a thumb drive (or a TomTom!) that has such limited memory to begin with. Only emptying the trash on the Mac itself will cause the (invisible) trash can on the device to be emptied, and obviously, the device must be connected while this is taking place.

    Need to find that sticky. I know it's around here somewhere.
     
    canderson, Sep 4, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Armand DeMille

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    To Canderson: As you can see, something sure went wrong when you replied (multiple times!) to the OP.

    Anyway, do you mean THIS
     
    dhn, Sep 4, 2013
    #3
  4. Armand DeMille

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Yup. That's the one. Thanks. Definitely something a Mac user needs to be aware of.


    As to the duplicates: Yes, the system was producing a consistent 'server error' of some sort yesterday. I posted a copy of what I was seeing over in the moderators' section. On my end, it looked like no posts were 'taking', but it appears they all were. And it looks like YOU got hit with a duplicate, too! I see you've cleaned up the mess, though.
     
    canderson, Sep 4, 2013
    #4
  5. Armand DeMille

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    It wasn't a "sticky" but it is now....:)

    Thanks to you Armand DeMille, for pointing it out again and making us realise canderson's note about it had dropped right down the list.
     
    Andy_P, Sep 5, 2013
    #5
  6. Armand DeMille

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    canderson, Sep 5, 2013
    #6
  7. Armand DeMille

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Certainly, why not?
     
    Andy_P, Sep 5, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.