No device connected

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by privatepyle, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. privatepyle

    privatepyle

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all I have a tomtom go that is approx 6 years old and nowadays alot of the roads have changed so I was thinking or either buying a new tomtom or updating the maps.

    I decided to buy maps from the tomtom website for the Uk @ approx ?28 - I bought the maps online and then recieved confirmation of my purchase and instructions on how to download and update the maps by downloading tomtom home.

    I have downloaded tomtom home and logged into tomtom home but the tomtom home system will not detect my device - it says no device connected on the bottom right of the tomtom home screen.

    Any ideas?
     
    privatepyle, Jan 30, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. privatepyle

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Give TomTom support a ring on Monday as there is a file they can send to you that will make the device viewable by TomTom Home, some very early TomTom One devices don't have the correct file installed so Home cannot see the unit. The number is 0845 161 0009 - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jan 30, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. privatepyle

    privatepyle

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mike will call them on Monday
     
    privatepyle, Jan 30, 2010
    #3
  4. privatepyle

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,556
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    While waiting till Monday, you can try resetting the unit. That sometimes gets the unit recognized again.
     
    dhn, Jan 30, 2010
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.