Looking for Beta testers of custom fuel prices POI's generator

Discussion in 'TomTom 3rd Party Software' started by perlabsrat, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730



    Enjoy...
    92354 Loma Linda CA.zip
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Dec 15, 2008
    #61
    1. Advertisements

  2. perlabsrat

    ambridgeln

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok im not sure if im doing this wrong... all im getting is a star in a box on the screen... i installed it in united states folder just like you would any other poi.... am i doing something wrong? any help would be greatly appreciated
     
    ambridgeln, Dec 19, 2008
    #62
    1. Advertisements

  3. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730

    The POI icon is a generic one that is created for you which does look like a star or astrick. The same icon will be used for every single poi in the set unless you create your own icon (BMP)file and replace the generated one.

    Is this what you are referring to?
     
    LazyBsoft, Dec 20, 2008
    #63
  4. perlabsrat

    Wolverine

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One LE
    Glad I could help. I alway thought our zip was BAD..:D
     
    Wolverine, Dec 21, 2008
    #64
  5. perlabsrat

    ambridgeln

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorta i think but from the beginning post i was under the assumtion it would show fuel prices right? How do i get it to do that?
     
    ambridgeln, Dec 21, 2008
    #65
  6. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730

    The prices are part of the name of each poi - so for example if you have a SHELL station that is at 123 elm st and the price of gas is 1.29 then in the poi list you would see something like

    1.29_Shell 123 elm st _city>phone number

    The name of the poi set is based on the file name that you copy over to the tomtom (the ov2 file and its corresponding bmp which supplied the icon)

    See the attached screen shots for an example of what it looks like when viewed on the tomtom screen.
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Dec 21, 2008
    #66
  7. perlabsrat

    SoDoWarts

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like to be a tester for these zips:

    01938
    01936

    Thanks!
     
    SoDoWarts, Dec 21, 2008
    #67
  8. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730


    Here you go...
    01938 and 01936_2008-12-21.zip
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Dec 21, 2008
    #68
  9. perlabsrat

    SoDoWarts

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Outstanding!! I tookk a ride today and the 7 stations I passed had your exact rate! BTW -- how does the TT stay up to date with rate changes?
     
    SoDoWarts, Dec 22, 2008
    #69
  10. perlabsrat

    boone292929

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like to test and help out.

    Zip: 10992
    Location: Washingtonville, NY
    Model: GO 720
     
    boone292929, Dec 23, 2008
    #70
  11. perlabsrat

    ravig

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Roswell (Atlanta)

    I would like to try the Atlanta area -- Zip Code : 30350

    I have a TomTom 730 and a Go 700
     
    ravig, Dec 23, 2008
    #71
  12. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730

    Great, that is why I wrote it. Keep in mind there will always be a margin of error. Gas Slasher will only be a up to date as the source data and how often you update it. Even if the prices for a given update are not correct you can usually get a feel for pricing patterns in the given area.



    ? How does Gas Slasher keep my TomTom updated?
    o It does not. Gas Slasher is an off line application meaning that every time you want to update the prices you will need to run the program again and update the POI set on your GPS for the new prices to be reflected. If you are looking for a more real time solution, you will need to look at the TomTom web site for more information on a subscription to their gas prices that works via your cell phone.
     
    LazyBsoft, Dec 23, 2008
    #72
  13. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730
    10992 Washingtonville, NY.zip
    Here you go..
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Dec 23, 2008
    #73
  14. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730

    Enjoy...

    30350 Atlanta GA.zip
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Dec 23, 2008
    #74
  15. perlabsrat

    SoDoWarts

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry from my ignorance -- how do I "run the program" again to update my prices? Is there a website to go to or do I download the zipcode zip file that you orginally gave me? Thanks.
     
    SoDoWarts, Jan 4, 2009
    #75
  16. perlabsrat

    tacojose

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd edition
    Zipcode: 37035
    City/State: Chapmansboro,TN
    TomTom model: TT One 3rd Edition
     
    tacojose, Jan 4, 2009
    #76
  17. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730
    Nothing to be sorry for... The program has not been released yet. I am very close to that point now. Once it is ready for public consumption it will be available for download. The website is almost ready and I have a few more coding bits to work on. I will announce its release here in this thread so just keep monitoring the forum till then.


    Thanks...
     
    LazyBsoft, Jan 5, 2009
    #77
  18. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730


    37035 ChapmansboroTN.zip

    Here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Jan 5, 2009
    #78
  19. perlabsrat

    Statman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Boulder & Santa Monica
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730
    Zipcode: 80305
    City/State: Boulder, CO
    TomTom model: GO730

    We'll give it a try.:D
     
    Statman, Jan 7, 2009
    #79
  20. perlabsrat

    LazyBsoft

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    730


    80305 Boulder CO.zip
    here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

    LazyBsoft, Jan 7, 2009
    #80
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.