Looking to Upgrade from Via 1605 TM


Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
5
Location
USA
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 1605TM, Garmin 2595LMT, Maylong M500, Magellan 1700
Hi All,
I'm looking to upgrade my unit I have a tom tom Via 1605tm 6inch screen,
What is the newest model that is similar that has map and traffic, to this and has a larger screen. with added new features
Thanks for all input.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,458
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Larger screen than the 1605??? (which, by the way, I think is the best resistive touch screen I've ever seen). The only 7" model that TomTom offers is the Bridge unit, and I don't think they're even selling that in the U.S. yet. It's a full Android tablet, and will set you back a good bit.

Why upgrading? Would help to know what you are hoping to see for improvements.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,458
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Different topic, sefa, but do you have Home installed on your PC? Has this unit ever been updated before?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,458
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
how to update tomtom xxl 550?thank you.
So you are saying you had updated it previously, but cannot update it now?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
5
Location
USA
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 1605TM, Garmin 2595LMT, Maylong M500, Magellan 1700
Hi All,
I'm looking to upgrade my unit I have a tom tom Via 1605tm 6inch screen,
What is the newest model that is similar that has map and traffic, to this and has a larger screen. with added new features
Thanks for all input.
Larger screen than the 1605??? (which, by the way, I think is the best resistive touch screen I've ever seen). The only 7" model that TomTom offers is the Bridge unit, and I don't think they're even selling that in the U.S. yet. It's a full Android tablet, and will set you back a good bit.

Why upgrading? Would help to know what you are hoping to see for improvements.
Canderson, I do have a supply of GPS units, but I do like the big screen, these old eyes of mine are getting tried, Was looking for something NEW, I really wanted a Larger Screen, Yes the 7" would make it for me..,Have try looking at other units, seem they are all going to the watch modes, really do not want that,
I like the maps and traffic feature,
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,458
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Canderson, I do have a supply of GPS units, but I do like the big screen, these old eyes of mine are getting tried, Was looking for something NEW, I really wanted a Larger Screen, Yes the 7" would make it for me..,Have try looking at other units, seem they are all going to the watch modes, really do not want that,
I like the maps and traffic feature,
If it's your eyeballs you're trying to please, then you might want to take a look at either the new 600. Although still a 6" screen, it has a feature that allows you to increase standard font size for street names, button names and all the rest, in a couple of steps. I keep mine in maximohuge mode and can read all the street names that were previously in 2 point telephone book type! If you can find one 'loose' to play with somewhere, let us know, and I'll give you the short and sweet on how to reconfigure it to larger fonts and you can go in and play with it a bit.

The 7" tablet doesn't seem to available in the US yet, and probably won't come cheap when it does. SWEET unit, but ... if you search for TomTom and Bridge, you'll see it in Europe in your search.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top