Looking to Upgrade from Via 1605 TM

Discussion in 'Which TomTom Should I Buy?' started by baitmn, May 15, 2015.

  1. baitmn

    baitmn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1605TM, Garmin 2595LMT, Maylong M500, Magellan 1700
    Hi All,
    I'm looking to upgrade my unit I have a tom tom Via 1605tm 6inch screen,
    What is the newest model that is similar that has map and traffic, to this and has a larger screen. with added new features
    Thanks for all input.
     
    baitmn, May 15, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. baitmn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Larger screen than the 1605??? (which, by the way, I think is the best resistive touch screen I've ever seen). The only 7" model that TomTom offers is the Bridge unit, and I don't think they're even selling that in the U.S. yet. It's a full Android tablet, and will set you back a good bit.

    Why upgrading? Would help to know what you are hoping to see for improvements.
     
    canderson, May 15, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. baitmn

    sefa18

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    xxl 550
    how to update tomtom xxl 550?thank you.
     
    sefa18, May 15, 2015
    #3
  4. baitmn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Different topic, sefa, but do you have Home installed on your PC? Has this unit ever been updated before?
     
    canderson, May 15, 2015
    #4
  5. baitmn

    sefa18

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    xxl 550
    yes have been update
     
    sefa18, May 15, 2015
    #5
  6. baitmn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    So you are saying you had updated it previously, but cannot update it now?
     
    canderson, May 15, 2015
    #6
  7. baitmn

    baitmn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1605TM, Garmin 2595LMT, Maylong M500, Magellan 1700
    Canderson, I do have a supply of GPS units, but I do like the big screen, these old eyes of mine are getting tried, Was looking for something NEW, I really wanted a Larger Screen, Yes the 7" would make it for me..,Have try looking at other units, seem they are all going to the watch modes, really do not want that,
    I like the maps and traffic feature,
     
    baitmn, May 15, 2015
    #7
  8. baitmn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,458
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Arno, May 15, 2015
    #8
  9. baitmn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    If it's your eyeballs you're trying to please, then you might want to take a look at either the new 600. Although still a 6" screen, it has a feature that allows you to increase standard font size for street names, button names and all the rest, in a couple of steps. I keep mine in maximohuge mode and can read all the street names that were previously in 2 point telephone book type! If you can find one 'loose' to play with somewhere, let us know, and I'll give you the short and sweet on how to reconfigure it to larger fonts and you can go in and play with it a bit.

    The 7" tablet doesn't seem to available in the US yet, and probably won't come cheap when it does. SWEET unit, but ... if you search for TomTom and Bridge, you'll see it in Europe in your search.
     
    canderson, May 16, 2015
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.