How to Install Voices

Discussion in 'TomTom Voices' started by digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Don't use home to install voices. Just copy the 3 voices file to your TomTom's voices folder.
     
    Pedro2NR, Jan 14, 2008
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    BOARDBOY

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Good thread ! Just copied a few voices on to my memory stick. I will give them a go on my one xl.

    Thanks Boardboy :)
     
    BOARDBOY, Feb 19, 2008
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    Scorpion

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    One
    Help with voices

    4. Open the folder and you will see three files: the image file (*.bmp), the voice data file (*.chk), and the index file (*.vif).

    I can get all the way to this step, but when I open the folder, I do not see the files split. Only thing that is in the folder are the voice files in .ogg format. I realize the .ogg is a compressed version of the file but I am having difficulty understanding how to create a .vif or a .chk file.
     
    Scorpion, Feb 15, 2009
    #23
  4. digital-flex

    TOMTOMS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    YODA Voice hard to put on my TomTom

    Hello to all that help, i have a tomtom one with the silver front and i have been trying to load YODA on it ,,i have a Mac Computer and have had no luck,is there anyone who can help thanks.
     
    TOMTOMS, Apr 9, 2009
    #24
  5. digital-flex

    Wee_Jock

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scottish voice of Wee_Jock

    I have the three files if anyone would like them. At the present time I have tested them on my TOMTOM V2 but not having any luck getting the BMP file I used to display and the unit has assigned a voice# of 127 rather than accept it as I have it numbered at 88. Any help with this minor detail would be great. If you want the voice and image files be glad to send them off wherever they need to go.

    One other frustrating issue I have, maybe someone can help with this. THE DISTANCE ANNOUNCEMENT It will not use either metric or Imperial in the voice announcement it will say 300 or something like that but does not follow up. Is it because I have not specified a country in the data file? Scotland does not show anywhere so it makes it rather difficult to make it specific rather than using ENGLISH and the Union Jack flag .
     
    Wee_Jock, May 29, 2009
    #25
  6. digital-flex

    34Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    N.C.
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Something has really changed with the 930's voices. There is no "voices" folder, but in the LoquendoTTS/data/voices folder you will find 3 folders, Charlotte, Soledad, and Susan.

    And in each folder you will find 4 files and they are ridiculously long filenames.

    Is this the way TT is doing them from now on?
     
    34Ford, Jul 21, 2009
    #26
  7. digital-flex

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The 930 app hasn't changed to my knowledge.

    Tomtom stores the pre-recorded voices in the "voices" folder. And Tomtom stores the computer voices in the "LoquendoTTS" folder.

    You probably didn't install any pre-recorded voices yet.
     
    mvl, Jul 24, 2009
    #27
  8. digital-flex

    34Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    N.C.
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    I created a "voices" folder and put the three files in it for a voice but it didn't work.

    Do you have to tell the 930 they are there? I bet Im leaving out a step.
     
    34Ford, Jul 24, 2009
    #28
  9. digital-flex

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Normal recorded voices do still work on the 930, put the files in the "voices" folder (all lower case and without the "") Once they are on the device go to changes preferences/ Manage Voices/ Switch voice or it might be Change Preferences/ Voice Preferences/ Change voice depending upon what Navcore you have installed. From this option you can scroll through each of the installed voices and select the one you want - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 24, 2009
    #29
  10. digital-flex

    34Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    N.C.
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    What a dork. I was doing it right all along, just blind I guess.

    Works just fine.

    Thanks
     
    34Ford, Jul 25, 2009
    #30
  11. digital-flex

    KitsuneKit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to break apart a VIF once it's together? Like to take some of the already made voices and tweak them?
     
    KitsuneKit, Sep 17, 2009
    #31
  12. digital-flex

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    You need viftool see Here for the download page, there are further links on that page for additional information on how it works - quite easy to be honest, and its the dataXX.chk that contains the voices not the vif file - Mike
     
    mikealder, Sep 17, 2009
    #32
  13. digital-flex

    trixie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too need help installing a voice

    I'm using a TomTom XL 330 S
    MAC OS X with TomTom Home Software

    Sorry, I read through this thread but I can't seem to make it work.

    *I purchased Eddie Izzard's voice from his website.
    *There was no "voices" folder in my TomTom directly so I made one (with a lower case v).
    *Copied the files into the voices folder.
    *Connected the TomTom to the computer.

    ** I put the voices folder in the root TomTom directory, then I tried putting it in under the Home folder, but neither worked.

    First I tried using the "Manage my Device" through the TomTom Home software -- but it doesn't recognize the voices folder on the computer.

    I connected and disconnected the TomTom -- because I read here that it should install them when you do that. But no joy, the Izzard voice still isn't an option on the TomTom.

    What am I missing?


    Thanks for any help in advance.

    Edited to add: upon further reading in the forum, I double check "Use English Voices only" option - tried both NO and YES. Nope, still not there.

    Update: I copied the files manually in the 'voices' folder on the device. The device still does not see the Izzard Voice as an option. I double checked the "Use English only' option and it doesn't seem it either way. HOWEVER, when I use TT Home, it shows me that the voice is there.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
    trixie, Nov 28, 2009
    #33
  14. digital-flex

    hitmanog

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Mike have you happen to come across a Jamacian Yardie voice file for the Tom Tom? My wife is from the Island and I would love to suprise her with this custom voice. LOL I'm willing to purchase it. I've searched high and low and can't seem to locate it. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
     
    hitmanog, Dec 2, 2010
    #34
  15. digital-flex

    Chef101

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    voices for tomtom via 160

    i have a tomtom via 160 and want to change to a voice that i bought off the tomtom website how do i do this
     
    Chef101, Feb 16, 2011
    #35
  16. digital-flex

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,408
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sadly, you can't.

    The Via is one of the models for which the consumer has no access to the file system.

    And while, in the last day or so, TomTom has started rolling out a new Navcore 10X application that allows for the adding of custom ov2 files, there is no provision for the addition of new voices.

    Maybe in the future. Maybe.

    EDIT - Since this was written, TomTom has added the functionality in their "MyTomTom" utility program to add the "real" voices but not the "Computer" (Text-to-speech) ones.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2012
    dhn, Feb 16, 2011
    #36
  17. digital-flex

    tilkimac

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norfolk virginia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xxl
    Hi,
    I just bought a Tom Tom XXL I wanted to add the yardie voice to it. Can you please tell me how can I get the jamaican yardie voice on my navigation. Thank you in advance
     
    tilkimac, Mar 24, 2012
    #37
  18. digital-flex

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,408
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Where did you get the voice?
     
    dhn, Mar 24, 2012
    #38
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. louie1955

    install third party voices

    louie1955, Nov 8, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,863
    Pedro2NR
    Nov 9, 2007
  2. m4gician

    Any voices that sound like the Garmin voices?

    m4gician, Nov 26, 2007, in forum: TomTom Voices
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,939
    Pedro2NR
    Nov 26, 2007
  3. macgirl

    strange error when trying to install computer voices

    macgirl, Jan 13, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,427
  4. ddfeder

    How do I install tts/computer voices on my G710?

    ddfeder, Oct 31, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,711
    dfeder
    Oct 31, 2009
  5. Vorlon

    How to manualy install voices

    Vorlon, Feb 26, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,731
    Vorlon
    Feb 26, 2010
  6. djozntheball

    how do i install voices on to my tomtom

    djozntheball, Dec 28, 2011, in forum: Introductions
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    5,127
    Andy_P
    Dec 28, 2011
  7. Jade521

    How do I install voices on VIA 1435?

    Jade521, Aug 22, 2014, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    832
    canderson
    Mar 27, 2015
  8. Tiller

    Install voices from PC to TomTom unit?

    Tiller, Jan 29, 2015, in forum: TomTom Voices
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,870
    NavalMilk
    Mar 26, 2015
Loading...