How to Install Voices

Discussion in 'TomTom Voices' started by digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    How to Install Voices

    This tutorial will walk you through how to install voices on your TT device. I am using the example Silent Directions voice but the steps are the same for installing any other voice found in the forum.

    I'm a Windows user so the tools I am using is WinRar to extract the compressed file. For Mac users, the program you can use is StuffIt.

    1. Download the voice on your desktop.

    [​IMG]


    2. Right-click the file and select - Extract to 99_Silent_Directions\

    [​IMG]


    3. This will create a folder on your desktop like so:

    [​IMG]


    4. Open the folder and you will see three files: the image file (*.bmp), the voice data file (*.chk), and the index file (*.vif).

    [​IMG]

    There a couple of things to note. If you download a voice, you may find that you only have two files (missing the *.vif), the voice will still work.

    Another thing is the numbering of the files. The site http://tomtom.graemelucas.co.uk explains it best:

    As you'll see, the Silent Directions is recognized as a Special Voice because the file name has the number 99. You can actually change the number if you want to but I will explain that in the following post.


    5. Connect your TT device to your PC or Mac and copy all of the files, the *.bmp, *chk, and *.vif into your voices folder

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    6. The Silent Direction voice is now installed on my TT. To see if it was successful, disconnect the TT device and go into Change Preferences | Change voice

    [​IMG]


    7. Now your current voice will be displayed. Click on either the left or right arrows to cycle through the voice selections

    [​IMG]


    8. You may get a message informing you if you want to select voices only in your country's language, in my case English US. You want to tap on the option NO.

    [​IMG]


    9. Now continue to tap on the arrows left or right to cycle through the available voices till you see the voice you installed.

    [​IMG]


    10. Tap on select and you have chosen the Silent Directions voice.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2007
    digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007
    #1
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    What if I have an existing voice with the data99.chk, .bmp, and .vif?

    You can certainly change the number to something that is not used. It is recommended to choose a number between the range 61-130. I haven't actually gone higher than 99 only because I don't install many voices.

    So, in the case above:

    Change data99.chk to data61.chk
    Change data99.bmp to data61.bmp
    Change data99.vif to data61.vif

    Now you also have to edit the *.vif, so open the file in a text editor like Notepad. You will see a reference of data99.chk. You need to change the 99 to 61 to correctly refence the changes you made.

    I choose 61 at random, so choose a number that is available for you.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
    digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    V01C3DUD3

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Actually, as of firmware version 6.5, voices go up to 130 I think.
     
    V01C3DUD3, Sep 21, 2007
    #3
    1 person likes this.
  4. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Are you referring to the special voice range?
     
    digital-flex, Sep 21, 2007
    #4
    1 person likes this.
  5. digital-flex

    V01C3DUD3

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, I am referring to the special voice range. And forgot to mention, well done on the tutorial! :D
     
    V01C3DUD3, Sep 21, 2007
    #5
  6. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Thanks for the correction. Will update it.
     
    digital-flex, Sep 21, 2007
    #6
  7. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    Sorry to sound like a dummy here but I have downloaded a few voices that I want to install in my 910, using Home 2.0 but can't find the folder titled "voices" in either the Home software or on the device itself. I did find on the device a folder titled "Loquendo TTS" which contains the voices, although the file extensions are different then what has been described in this thread.
    I'm confused......again.
    Thanks for any input.
     
    Reinyrooster, Oct 27, 2007
    #7
  8. digital-flex

    thaJack

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 700 and Go 720
    Is there a tutorial for installing computer voices? I have tried with TomTom Home 2 but have been unsuccessful.
     
    thaJack, Oct 27, 2007
    #8
  9. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Go in TTH v2.0
    Menu Preferences, Folder Preferences
    Set the Downloads folder to the directory where you've copied the voice files or move the files to the directory chosen in the Downloads folder value.
    Then click Done
    Click in Add maps... then More then Items on my computer, then click on the + before Applications and you should see the plugins
     
    digital-flex, Oct 27, 2007
    #9
  10. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Not at the moment, but all you do is insert the CD into your comp and then when you click on Add maps, voices....etc, you should see the voices there.
     
    digital-flex, Oct 27, 2007
    #10
  11. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    Have copied those files to the appropriate directory, and can see them there in when using Windows Explorer. When I follow your directions though in TTH11, it does not appear under the applications.
     
    Reinyrooster, Oct 27, 2007
    #11
  12. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    check the name of the files. something is not name correctly.
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 28, 2007
    #12
  13. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    I have taken a snapshot of the folder with the files, can you see if anything looks wrong, I can't figure it out. I recopied the files over again.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Reinyrooster, Oct 28, 2007
    #13
  14. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    What I did, was insert my CD and changed the Download directory to my CD/DVD drive like so:

    [​IMG]

    Then, when I click on Voices, notice that under location it says CD. I would think this would be the same for computer voices?

    [​IMG]
     
    digital-flex, Oct 28, 2007
    #14
  15. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    That pic is tough to see, this one might be a little better.
     

    Attached Files:

    Reinyrooster, Oct 28, 2007
    #15
  16. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    Extracted the files to a different folder, directed TTH to look to that folder and it still does not see or read those files!
     
    Reinyrooster, Oct 28, 2007
    #16
  17. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    you need to make sure the files are named the exact same.

    Starbucks.ov2 Starbucks.bmp starbucks.ogg are not named the same.

    This is case sensitive.
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 28, 2007
    #17
  18. digital-flex

    Reinyrooster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    Man this is getting frustrating. I created a new folder, copied all the files over, checked all the file names and even amended some of them once copied over to ensure that they were exactly the same as the original. Go to TTH and direct the preferences to that folder. Then when I try and download from that folder, TTH doesn't see or show it.
     
    Reinyrooster, Oct 28, 2007
    #18
  19. digital-flex

    Hubird

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a similar problem, I want to have more than one computer voice installed but tomtom home does not want to let me. At the moment I have the "Kate English UK" computer voice installed (I installed it off the tomtom CD) but now when I go to the add voices option in TTH the other voice I want to install (Susan U.S.) does not show up in the options. I have browsed my C.D. and in the folder TTS (which I assume is all the computer voices) I have a zip file called Kate_6.9.1 which would be my current computer voice and also a Susan_6.9.1.zip file (as well a quite a few others). Is it possible to have more than one computer voice installed ?

    TomTom Go 720

    [​IMG]
     
    Hubird, Dec 29, 2007
    #19
  20. digital-flex

    darthsuma

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    voice install on new tt home v2

    how do you do this I have dl and unzipped the voices but am now lost. I am running go910 with version 7 software ....? ps ??I am a pc dummy so go easy step by step please :). and i was lost by the stuff above :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2008
    darthsuma, Jan 13, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. louie1955

    install third party voices

    louie1955, Nov 8, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,959
    Pedro2NR
    Nov 9, 2007
  2. m4gician

    Any voices that sound like the Garmin voices?

    m4gician, Nov 26, 2007, in forum: TomTom Voices
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,996
    Pedro2NR
    Nov 26, 2007
  3. macgirl

    strange error when trying to install computer voices

    macgirl, Jan 13, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,460
  4. ddfeder

    How do I install tts/computer voices on my G710?

    ddfeder, Oct 31, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,756
    dfeder
    Oct 31, 2009
  5. Vorlon

    How to manualy install voices

    Vorlon, Feb 26, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,803
    Vorlon
    Feb 26, 2010
  6. djozntheball

    how do i install voices on to my tomtom

    djozntheball, Dec 28, 2011, in forum: Introductions
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    5,245
    Andy_P
    Dec 28, 2011
  7. Jade521

    How do I install voices on VIA 1435?

    Jade521, Aug 22, 2014, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    871
    canderson
    Mar 27, 2015
  8. Tiller

    Install voices from PC to TomTom unit?

    Tiller, Jan 29, 2015, in forum: TomTom Voices
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,116
    NavalMilk
    Mar 26, 2015
Loading...