Heading to USA and looking for a new sat nav

Hi.
Im going to florida next month and am looking to buy a new sat nav to do it, i like the tom toms but not sure what to do.

I gather new tom toms wont take sd cards, can i buy any tom tom and put usa maps onto it via the tom tom download or do i ahve to have a certain model with higher memory etc? Absolute novice here im afraid so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers

You don't say what model you have. Would be helpful to do so.

But, assuming you have a tom tom now, it should be possible to move your existing map to the computer and purchase and download the USA map using Home (assuming you do NOT have a 1X, Via , Start 20 or Go 8X model, you need MyTomTom for them).

When you return from Florida, move the USA map to the computer and copy back your existing map.

You don't say what model you have. Would be helpful to do so.

But, assuming you have a tom tom now, it should be possible to move your existing map to the computer and purchase and download the USA map using Home (assuming you do NOT have a 1X, Via , Start 20 or Go 8X model, you need MyTomTom for them).

When you return from Florida, move the USA map to the computer and copy back your existing map.

The reason i didnt say what model i have is because "iam looking to buy a new one" but not sure what one to go for? The older ones it appears take a memory card, the newer ones dont from what halfords said, but they also said as long as it has the europe maps too - it will have enough memory to take USA too, but they were trying to goad me into a particular sat nav. What model should i look at buying to be the best for the job. I know garmin do one that has usa already on it.

Two of our mods are UK based and hopefully one or both can suggest an appropriate model for your needs.

There are no current model on sale in the UK that have both Europe and US maps - daft isn't it?!?!?