VIA 52 - Connecting to Bluetooth


Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 52
Hi - I'm looking at buying a VIA 52 5" satnav. It says "Free maps for life" - how are the updates done? Is it via my Android phone (and will it work wih my Sony Experia E5)?
Or could I connect it by cable to my Windows 10 desktop, as I used to with an older TomTom that has finally bitten the dust? Or a Bluetooth Dongle plugged into my router?
Also it says that it does live traffic updates - so do you have to have it linked by Bluetooth to my phone in the car whilst I'm driving?
Will it use my data allowance on my phone, and if so, how much for, say, a trip to London from Manchester?
Another question is, if I DONT have my phone connected to it by Blutooth, will the Satnav just work like normal, but without Live Traffic ?

Thanks for all and any help.

Geoff
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Call support to have your questions answered:

United Kingdom
02079 490 134
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Hello Geoff, welcome to TomTomForums.

If you have not done so already, download the PDF manual at
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/B1-i2t26khS.pdf


You should make a new user name for this device, unless you call support as dhn post above, and have them make the change. Maps are usually keyed to the device.

If you used HOME to connect your device in the past you now need "MyDrive Connect for Windows" to connect via USB cable. https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/mydrive-connect/

You only need the Data of your cell phone to get Live Traffic. Usage cannot be predicted as it will not do much searching for alternative route around traffic when zooming along the M1 around Nottingham as opposed to sitting on the M25 for an hour, where it will gobble up data.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 52
Thanks for your help guys - I did try ringing but, despite being told that I would only have to wait 3 minutes, I was still hanging on after 10 mins, so gave up. I've downloaded the manual though - thanks again.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top