Urban Rider memory

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Roly, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. Roly

    Roly

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might be missing something here but the specifications for the new Urban Rider models state that they have "32MB RAM". If you choose to download the USA, Canada & Mexico map fro example this is approximately 1.7GB in size so presumably this won't fit on the device memory?

    Could be my dodgy maths but can anyone enlighten me?

    Thanks
     
    Roly, Jul 21, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Roly

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    The 32MB is the available RAM memory the device uses while in use, this is seperate to the main storage (Flash) Memory, as long as your unit isn't a regional one it will be supplied with the Western_Europe map so the built in Flash memory will have enough capacity to hold the North_American map but you will have to remove the European map first to make space (store it on the PC then copy it back later) - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 21, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Roly

    Roly

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mike - that seems a pretty rubbish arrangement. Seems to compromise the whole design...
     
    Roly, Jul 21, 2010
    #3
  4. Roly

    myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since you guys are talking about it...I went to the store to buy one today. Just about had it bought, when I realized that the motorcycle dock/mount does not charge the unit.?!?!?! WTF is the point of that? Why would I but a motorcycle specific kit that does not charge on the go?

    And to top it off....the dock from the Rider 2 would fit, but good luck finding one...
     
    myvrodrocks, Jul 24, 2010
    #4
  5. Roly

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    There is a cradle that charges the Rider_3 on the bike but its an optional extra that sets you back a further ?45 which is a bit steep if you ask me see Here - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 24, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.