TomTom Start frozen at "Start" screen

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by MazdaRX7, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. MazdaRX7

    MazdaRX7

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom START / EASE
    Hello everyone. I am new to the forum and I hope someone can help me.

    Like the title says I have an old TomTom START 1GB (1ex00) and everything was fine until recently he decided to get stuck on the "START" screen. I have tried everything from what google provided me as an option except using someone's files or work more deeply then just accessing the Memory Card.

    Is there someone with the same device that could provide their memory card files, especially that autorun.inf (Antivirus software likes to block access to that file and this could be the main problem)

    IMPORTANT - anything that is person identifiable can be obviously, NOT provided :)

    Or if anyone knows any other tricks, I accept any help.
     
    MazdaRX7, Jul 28, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MazdaRX7

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,441
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    If you can access your device as an external storage device with your PC, go to the folder that contains your Europe map data, and delete ONLY the mapsettings.cfg file, then reboot the device.
     
    canderson, Jul 28, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MazdaRX7

    MazdaRX7

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom START / EASE
    That leads to the GPS ask me to plug the PC cable (flashing red cross)
     
    MazdaRX7, Jul 28, 2018
    #3
  4. MazdaRX7

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,441
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    What is the "that"? The deletion of that single mapsettings.cfg file, or ???
     
    canderson, Jul 29, 2018
    #4
  5. MazdaRX7

    MazdaRX7

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom START / EASE
    Yes, once I deleted that single file :)

    I also tried after this, to install the core files of the last available version for my TT, without success. There is a high possibility that the last update through TomTom HOME did something on the side part of that memory that we are unable to access, meaning end of the road.
     
    MazdaRX7, Jul 29, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.