TomTom One New Edition will not power up unless it is plugged in

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by JoeG5, May 10, 2008.

  1. JoeG5

    JoeG5

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE New Edition
    I have a TomTom One New Edition. It will not power up unless it is plugged in to the USB on my comptuer or car. I can plug it in for just a few seconds to turn it on, then unplug it and it will continue to run, but I can not power up without being plugged in.
    Does anyone know of a fix for this?
    Thanks in advance,
    Joe
     
    JoeG5, May 10, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JoeG5

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    That sounds like the common problem where the units won't fire up after the sd card has been removed and re-inserted.

    try a pin reset. There is a tiny hole on the bottom for this. use a toothpick or similar to reset the unit.

    mine, when I remove and replace the sd card will not fire up without again removing and replacing the card each time I want to use it. after the pin reset it works fine.
     
    flyer1024, May 10, 2008
    #2
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. JoeG5

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920
    I explain how to fix this in Q5 on my FAQ page:
    >>> TomTom FAQ <<<


    ... basically what flyer1024 said
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2008
    Birdman, May 10, 2008
    #3
  4. JoeG5

    JoeG5

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE New Edition
    I am up and running again,
    Thanks much!
    Joe
     
    JoeG5, May 10, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.