Request advice re. tomtom 1 (2nd edition)

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by icianchis, Apr 2, 2020.

  1. icianchis

    icianchis

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one 2nd Edition
    Dear colleagues
    Please may I ask for advice. My device above has a problem. When I am using it it is often fine but during the journey sometimes it seems to lose the signal, upon which the map part of the screen is "frozen" at the place it stopped. If I power off and then re-start the device, I find nothing has changed. The same place is shown on the map bit and there is no signal.
    Please can anyone advise if there is a fix or workround.
     
    icianchis, Apr 2, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. icianchis

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    It's hard to know whether the firmware is just locking up such that it is no longer updating the screen, or whether your ONE 2nd is losing GPS signal. Is the device still responsive to touches on the screen as normal during one of these events? If not, it's likely just locking up. If it's still responsive, go to the page that shows the satellite coverage and see what it says.
     
    canderson, Apr 3, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. icianchis

    icianchis

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one 2nd Edition
    Dear Canderson. Thank you so much for your helpfulness.
    to be honest I don't think it is just an issue of merely losing the signal. It happens regularly even frequently, and in different locations.
    During one of these events I am able to "navigate" away from the (dead at that time) map screen to the menu system of the device. I will have a look at the satellite coverage page. I hadnt known there was a satellite coverage page until you mentioned it.
    Please do you think that when this happens I should reset the device with a paper clip or something?
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2020
    icianchis, Apr 3, 2020
    #3
  4. icianchis

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    It certainly couldn't hurt to try the hard reset with the (gently) applied paperclip to the button in the bottom. One time should do it if that's going to work.
    Good to know that the system remains responsive when it's misbehaving. At least the device isn't locked up due to some major issue of hardware or firmware.
    Let us know what you see on the satellite page.
    And just in case, please advise the make/model/year of your vehicle. Believe it or not, it might well matter. Make sure you're not on this list >> https://ezpassmaineturnpike.com/EZPass/Page.do?id=extTags
     
    canderson, Apr 3, 2020
    #4
  5. icianchis

    icianchis

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one 2nd Edition
    Dear Canderson. Thanks again for the kind advice. I shall try with checking the satellite signal after which I shall give it a go as a last resort with gentle reset using the paper clip or similar. With thanks
    Ian
     
    icianchis, Apr 13, 2020
    #5
  6. icianchis

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    And do check your vehicle against that list.
     
    canderson, Apr 13, 2020
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.