Tomtom go6200 constant restart


Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
Hi All, i have tried numerous times to get in touch with TomTom, but i am locked out of my original email account and it wont accept my old tomtom account i had used. And it is impossible to get in touch via online chat or even a telephone as it is stating COVID issues (i dont mind ringing holland if that helps resolve)

Basically for over a year with all the relevant updates, my tomtom just constantly is freezing and restarting itself.

It is now to the point where it is almost impossible to actually use as you will miss turns whilst it tries to start and catch up location

does anyone have any ideas?

I have updated over the weekend to the latest version and all new updates but it is still happening
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
i have been weary of trying a full reset (if an option) in case it doesnt come back and i end up bricking it
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,877
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
A factory reset may in fact resolve the problem. Nothing magic, it's something you can do from the menu system.
There is a chance that part of your configuration data has been corrupted. If so, the factory reset should clean that up without risk to your device. You do lose your preferred configuration options, though.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
thank you i will give it a shot, the configuration will be ok, as long as it doesnt constantly restart

i will let you know how i get on with it
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
hi just before i try to format it, i thought of an issue.

I can not gain access to the previous email address used (have tried numerous times with microsoft), if i format it, and can not use that address do i lose access to the updates?

would there be an email sent that i would need to confirm the id?

or could i in theory create

appreciare your help
A factory reset may in fact resolve the problem. Nothing magic, it's something you can do from the menu system.
There is a chance that part of your configuration data has been corrupted. If so, the factory reset should clean that up without risk to your device. You do lose your preferred configuration options, though.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
logged out out of the mydrive / connect on the tomtom device,
yesterday i tried it and seemed to stay on

annoying though as i like to look on my phone and send over

other issue, it seems to take forever to lock onto a signal
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,877
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
hi just before i try to format it, i thought of an issue.

I can not gain access to the previous email address used (have tried numerous times with microsoft), if i format it, and can not use that address do i lose access to the updates?

would there be an email sent that i would need to confirm the id?

or could i in theory create

appreciare your help
First, a factory reset does NOT format the device. It simply removes certain custom configuration and information. It does not remove the firmware or the maps.

I do not understand your issue with the email. What does Microsoft have to do with this? Can you please elaborate.

Is this a unit you have purchased from someone else, and are unable to get them to provide you with account information?

Once you have it up and running and can connect to the TomTom system, you can receive a file (you won't know it is happening) that will provide satellite information that will make your ability to acquire a satellite lock quicker.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200 go
I thought that if i had formatted the device, when i try to log in, you would need to activate the tomtom my drive.

the email account is my own but one I have not used for a couple years.

in the end I tried yesterday with the signing out of the account on the device

it seems like it may have worked for that part
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,877
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
You have no means to format the device. It connects via USB cable, but you will find that Device Manager believes it to be a network device, and you have no access to the directory structure apart from a couple of personal data folders.

There is also no way to 'sign out' on the device since it remembers your user name. "Stop Syncing" just forgets your password. A factory reset will remove the existing sign-in information, though, if you find that helpful at some point.

We are talking about a GO 6200 here, per the details under your avatar, yes?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top