tomtom 125 via

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by psaila, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. psaila

    psaila

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    i just got a via 125 tomtom via ebay and i connect it to my computer .. my windows windows xp detects it as TOMTOM but fails to find drivers , i also tried finding drivers on the internet but i didnt manage . has any1 got drivers ?

    also i noticed on the main site it says that it doesnt have built in SD SLOT , but when i open bottom cover there is a micro sd slot . any ideas on this ?

    Via live model:4ej51

    hi again ..
    usb driver issue was solved .. had to install MyTomTom ... i assume tomtom home is not compatible with this satnav ey ? cause i couldnt find it with tomtom home .
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011
    psaila, Feb 8, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. psaila

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    The Via devices use "MyTomTom" which is web based, the actual device is hidden from the normal file system of the PC which is why it doesn't appear as a drive letter or permit any read/ write access from the PC using Windows Explorer - Mike
     
    mikealder, Feb 8, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. psaila

    Oskar

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southern Bavaria, Germany
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 950 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, GO 720, GO 500, XL IQ Routes
    I would call it a future use feature.

    The device even recognizes the microSD slot. Check it out by inserting a SDcard, switch on the device and keep the power button pressed beyond the drum sound until you get a special overview screen - watch the line 'SD card capacity'.

    But until MyTomTom doesn't support this additional drive for map installation and so on it's of no use of course, and you will never ever see it with Explorer/Finder.


    Oskar
     
    Oskar, Feb 11, 2011
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.