POI's on SD card?

TomTom Model(s)
Hello everyone, I'm new to TomTom; used Nuvi's for a long time.

I have a question on the TomTom 920, I want to be able to put all my TomTom POI's that I have d/l (ov2 & bmp) on an SD card instead on putting them directly into the TomTom itself, is there anyway to accomplish that? I know on my Nuvi for the sd card they go into a folder called \garmin\poi

Or am I'm "stuck" with putting all of them into the North_America folder and wasting space on the TomTom unit itself?

Can I do something like that on the TomTom 920? :confused:

Thanks

Hello everyone, I'm new to TomTom; used Nuvi's for a long time.

I have a question on the TomTom 920, I want to be able to put all my TomTom POI's that I have d/l (ov2 & bmp) on an SD card instead on putting them directly into the TomTom itself, is there anyway to accomplish that? I know on my Nuvi for the sd card they go into a folder called \garmin\poi

Or am I'm "stuck" with putting all of them into the North_America folder and wasting space on the TomTom unit itself?

Can I do something like that on the TomTom 920? :confused:

Thanks

The answer is yes and no. Yes, you can simply copy the *.ov2, *.bmp files for you POIs into the map directory on your TomTom (most likely /USA_and_Canada).

HOWEVER, your SD card and the internal memory are not additive. You EITHER use the internal memory OR the SD card. When the SD card is put into the TomTom, your internal memory is ignored. This means you need to have everything on the SD card (Navcore7 operating system, maps, POIs, etc) for it to work.

HOWEVER, your SD card and the internal memory are not additive. You EITHER use the internal memory OR the SD card. When the SD card is put into the TomTom, your internal memory is ignored. This means you need to have everything on the SD card (Navcore7 operating system, maps, POIs, etc) for it to work.