POI's to Go Professional 620

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by scrumpyvet, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. scrumpyvet

    scrumpyvet

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Professional620
    Good Evening,I have just bought a Go Pro 620 so as to be able to put my vehicle's dimensions in in the hope of no detours across farmers fields etc.My query is that when connected to the relevant PC to download ly POI files,I am told that I can update via Wi-Fi but no information is forthcoming about uploading.If this is not possible it will be going back to Mr Halford aka TomTom Supplier Thank-you in anticipation
    scrumpyvet
     
    scrumpyvet, Oct 21, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scrumpyvet

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You need to
    1) Get an account set up here >> https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/
    2) Use exactly the same email and password account information on your 620 in the Menu / Settings / MyDrive / TomTom Account boxes.
    That is what 'connects' your device to your MyDrive web page information.
    3) take your *.ov2 style POI files and upload then to the site you set up in #1.
    4) Have your 620 hooked up to WiFi (or the cable if you have the MyDrive Connect app on your PC and, just ignore that app when it opens up -- the cable makes the connection that is needed if you don't have WiFi avaialble) so they sync across the cloud to your device.

    See here a very recent thread discussing this process: >> https://www.tomtomforums.com/threads/upgrading-from-xxl540-to-go520.32451/#post-192279
    Ignore the bit about 'routes' and focus just on POIs.
     
    canderson, Oct 21, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scrumpyvet

    scrumpyvet

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Professional620
    Good Morning,Thanks for the quick reply.First a bit of background,I live in the UK and not Canada.I notice in your forum yon mention the XXL540,I have never heard of this model,perhaps its for the canadian market.Now back to the query,I have been able to use the very valuble info sent and have managed to get to the point where I am told that the OV2 file has been downloaded ,and that is where the trail goes cold..The PC screen shows its downloaded but nothing when I go into my places on the Sat-Nav .Perhaps you have an idea in that direction?
     
    scrumpyvet, Oct 22, 2019
    #3
  4. scrumpyvet

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Your .o2 categories should show on your device in My Places at the very bottom.

    Screenshot_2019-10-15-19-18-35.jpg
     
    Arno, Oct 22, 2019
    #4
  5. scrumpyvet

    scrumpyvet

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Professional620
    I have sorted out this problem,finger trouble,when I checked all my details I found that a full stop in my email address had migrated to a different position . Now all my POI's are where I want them.Thanks again to all respondents for the help received scrumptyvet
     
    scrumpyvet, Oct 23, 2019
    #5
  6. scrumpyvet

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Glad to hear you got it sorted.
     
    Arno, Oct 23, 2019
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.